Back to Wanganui Accommodation (Motels & Motor Lodges) New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Whanganui > Wanganui > Wanganui Motels, Motor Lodges & Motor Inns

Burwood Manor Motel

Self Rated:

3.5 Star Rating (Self Rated)

User Rated:

4 User Rating

Address

63-65 Dublin Street
Wanganui
New Zealand
5021

Phone Number

  • 06 345 2180
  • 0800 20 20 63
  • 06 345 8711

Enquire by Email

  • Send

Location

Burwood Manor Motel
63-65 Dublin Street
Wanganui
New Zealand
5021
Loading
Loading...
  • Burwood Manor Motel, Wanganui
  • Burwood Manor Motel, Wanganui
  • Burwood Manor Motel, Wanganui
  • Burwood Manor Motel, Wanganui
  • Burwood Manor Motel, Wanganui
  • Burwood Manor Motel, Wanganui
  • Burwood Manor Motel, Wanganui
  • Burwood Manor Motel, Wanganui
  • Book Online
  • Overview
  • Reviews (19)
Arriving:
Adults:
Children:
  • FREE Wifi Studio - 21

    FREE Wifi! Quiet and spacious studio unit. 1 x queen, 1 x single and sofa bed. Full kitchen, microwave, iron/ironing board, Sky TV. DVD upon request. Wifi available.

  • Free Wifi Studio - 22

    Quiet and spacious studio unit. 1 x queen, 1 x single bed. Full kitchen, tea/coffee making facilities, microwave, iron/ironing board, Sky TV. DVD upon request. Wifi available.

  • Free Wifi Studio - 23

    Quiet and spacious studio unit. 1 x queen, 1 x single bed. Full kitchen, tea/coffee making facilities, microwave, iron/ironing board, Sky TV. DVD upon request. Wifi available.

  • Free Wifi Studio - 24

    Quiet and spacious studio unit. 1 x queen, 1 x single bed. Full kitchen, tea/coffee making facilities, microwave, iron/ironing board, Sky TV. DVD upon request. Wifi available.

  • Free Wifi Studio - 25

    Quiet and spacious studio unit. 1 x Queen and 1 x single bed. Can interconnect to an access unit. Full kitchen, tea/coffee making facilities, microwave, iron/ironing board, Sky TV. DVD upon request. Wifi available.

  • Room - 26 ( Access Unit)

    Quiet and spacious studio unit. 1 x double and 1 x single bed. Can interconnect to a Standard Stuio unit. Has tea/coffee making facilities . Access unit, walk in shower, microwave, iron/ironing board, Sky TV. DVD upon request. Wifi available.

  • Access Room - Studio - 27

    Quiet and spacious studio unit. 1 x double and 1 x single bed. Can interconnect with another unit. With tea/coffee making facilities . Wheelchair Access, walk in shower, microwave, iron/ironing board, Sky TV. DVD upon request. Wifi available.

  • Free Wifi Studio - 28

    Quiet and spacious studio unit. 1 x queen, 1 x single and sofa bed .Can interconnect to an access unit. Full kitchen, tea/coffee making facilities, microwave, iron/ironing board, Sky TV. DVD upon request. Wifi available.

  • FREE Wifi Studio - 29

    FREE Wifi! Quiet and spacious studio unit. 1 x queen, 1 x single and sofa bed. Full kitchen, microwave, iron/ironing board, Sky TV. DVD upon request. Wifi available.

  • FREE Wifi Studio - 30

    FREE Wifi when you BOOK NOW! Quiet and spacious studio unit. 1 x queen, 2 x single beds. Full kitchen, microwave, iron/ironing board, Sky TV. DVD upon request. Wifi available.

  • Free Wifi Studio - 31

    Quiet and spacious studio unit. 1 x double, 2 x single beds. Full kitchen, tea/coffee making facilities, microwave, iron/ironing board, Sky TV. DVD upon request. Wifi available.

  • Free Wifi Studio - 32

    Quiet and spacious studio unit. 1 x Double and 2 x single beds. Full kitchen, tea/coffee making facilities, microwave, iron/ironing board, Sky TV. DVD upon request. Wifi available.

  • Free Wifi Spa Pool Unit - 33

    Spa Suite: 1-Bedroom with a queen bed & 1 single bed in the lounge. Private Spa Pool off main bedroom. Lounge, Full kitchen facilities, bathroom, Microwave, Iron/Ironing Board, Hairdryer. Sky TV.

  • Free Wifi Spa Pool Unit - 34

    Spa Suite: 1-Bedroom with a queen bed & 1 single bed in the lounge. Private Spa Pool off main bedroom. Lounge, Full kitchen facilities, bathroom, Microwave, Iron/Ironing Board, Hairdryer. Sky TV.

  • Free Wifi Spa Pool Unit - 35

    Spa Suite: 1-Bedroom with a queen bed & 2 single beds in the lounge. Private Spa pool off main bedroom. Lounge, Full kitchen facilities, bathroom, Microwave, Iron/Ironing Board, Hairdryer. Sky TV.

  • Free Wifi Spa Pool Unit - 36

    Spa Suite: 1-Bedroom with a queen bed & 2 single beds in the lounge. Private Spa Pool off main bedroom. Lounge, Full kitchen facilities, bathroom, Microwave, Iron/Ironing Board, Hairdryer. Sky TV.

  • FREE Wifi Spa - 37

    FREE Wifi! 1-Bedroom with a queen bed & 1 single bed in the lounge. Private Spa Pool off main bedroom. Lounge, Full kitchen facilities, bathroom, Microwave, Iron/Ironing Board, Hairdryer. Sky TV.

  • Free Wifi One Bedroom Unit (38)

    One Bedroom Suite: 1-Bedroom with a queen bed & 1 single bed plus sofa bed in the lounge.Lounge, Full kitchen facilities, bathroom, Microwave, Iron/Ironing Board, Hairdryer. Sky TV.

  • FREE Wifi Spa - 39

    FREE Wifi! 1-Bedroom with a queen bed & 1 single bed plus sofa bed in the lounge. Private Spa off main bedroom. Lounge, Full kitchen facilities, bathroom, Microwave, Iron/Ironing Board, Hairdryer. Sky TV.

  • Free Wifi Spa Pool Unit- 40

    Spa Suite: 1-Bedroom with a queen bed & 1 single bed in the lounge. Private Spa pool off main bedroom. Lounge, Full kitchen facilities, bathroom, Microwave, Iron/Ironing Board, Hairdryer. Sky TV.

Amenities

  • 24hr reception/nightbell
  • Access facilities
  • Barbecue
  • Business services
  • Catering
  • Conference Facilities
  • Continental breakfast
  • Cooked breakfast
  • Electric blankets
  • Fully equipped kitchen
  • Hair dryer
  • In-Room Spa
  • In-Room Wireless
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Laundry/laundry service
  • Microwave
  • Room Service
  • Sauna
  • Secretarial services
  • Sky TV
  • Spa Pool
  • Swimming pool

Overview

Burwood Manor Motel is a motel located in Wanganui.

It is situated in a quiet location just off Victoria Avenue and consists of 20 ground floor units, 2 with access facilities and 8 units with private spa pool. 2 conference rooms along with secretarial services are available for booking for businesses and corporates.

Wanganui or Whanganui is a city located in the Manawatu-Wanganui district in the south-west of the North Island. Bridge to Nowhere is a popular tourist attraction in the Whanganui National Park and is named because it has no roads leading to it. Kayaking and Canoeing are popular water activities on the Whanganui River. The city also has many heritage buildings including the War Memorial Tower and the buildings on Victoria Avenue.

Burwood Manor Motel is located in 63-65 Dublin Street in Wanganui. Tariff: single/double/twin/spa from $99-$140; extra adult $20; peak rates may apply. Book your holiday accommodation through Jasons.

Reviews (19)

show all

  • Posted 27 Feb 2014
    "All good at Burwood" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    Everything was supplied and owner was friendly. It was good on the pocket too.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 29 Jan 2014
    "Burwood Manor more like Burwood Horror!" This was given a review of 1 star (Poor)

    This is the third time we have stayed at Burwood Manor, the first time was so nice after having just spent 8 days on the Wanganui River, having a hot spa and hot showers was so well received we didn't hesitate to book in for the next years trip.

    This year, we were horrified by our experience, starting with the toilet paper running out after one use, a bathroom cupboard full of used tissues, and then no hot water after only two showers! When I complained at the lack of hot water, I was told off for having showers that were too long!! Reluctantly another unit was opened for us to finish showering, only this shower had not been cleaned properly either!

    We will definitely not be staying here again next year.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 14 Jan 2014
    "One night stay" This was given a review of 1 star (Poor)

    I made two requests when booking on line but I did not hear from the motel and had to infact ring them to ask if they would provide a portacot.

    We were put in a different room to that which I had booked. The one I booked had a seperate room in which I had planned to sleep my 10mth old baby. The room we were in was all in one. There was no reduction in the price as a result.

    The portacot I requested was ancient. My son spent was able to stand up in it and had the potential to fall out. He ended up spending the night in bed with my husband and I.

    I did intend on asking for a late checkout so that my 10mth old could have a morning sleep, but did not as we had trouble getting him to sleep the previous night.

    There is a window very high up on one wall that has no curtain making it difficult to make the room dark.

    The spa area felt ancient too - it needs modernising.

    The swimming pool area was nice and tidy.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 14 January 2014

    Hello Sarah, All our Studio rooms are the same. The beds are all in one room, there is no separate room. If you wanted a separated room you should have booked our Spa units which has a bedroom and a lounge. I did give you a late check out and also explain to you the room you had booked has too many beds in it and if you want a portacot it will be too crowded, afterall you had 2 children and one will be using the cot and the other one a single bed. You were quite happy with it at that time. The window at the top does have a net curtain. We try our best to keep our guest happy and corfortable.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 01 Jan 2014
    " STAY SUMMARY" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    Check in good- staff on check in very helpful.

    Rooms could benefit from some sort of air conditioning and also some explanation of how the current heating unit works

    Self use laundry is well placed

    Rooms look good and a good paint job has been done

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 19 Dec 2013
    "Mostly positive but wouldnt credit my AA card" This was given a review of 3 stars (Average)

    Nice place.Just not sure if it should be allowererd to have the AA logo on it as when i handed over my card the lady said it wasnt for specials.I paid normal rate to my knowledge and choose this place because of this as well.I will get in contact with AA as well. Nice enough staff and very clean. They run a tight schedule so no late checkout. Rating 3

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 19 December 2013

    Your booking was made through Jason' website which is also our booking widget on our own website. We were having specials which was same as the AA discounted rate and were not able to give you a further discount. Please check the AA website for our rack rate. Regarding late checkout, which was given to you till 11am. We hope you had a comfortable stay.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 03 Nov 2013
    "Happy Campers" This was given a review of 3 stars (Average)

    The room was warm and comfortable with all amenities, spa and sauna available. Shops, takeaways and supermarkets were only a few minutes walk up the road. The owners/managers were a tad in your face which was a nuisance.

    Rating 3/5 - would have been if the owners let us be.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 4 November 2013

    We appreciate good reviews and response from our customers but we also appreciate if they also look after our property and strictly follow the opening hours of our facilities. They have to be considerate and stop the children from throwing chairs in the swimming pool. The children has to be monitored when using such facilities. We want all our guest to have a safe and enjoyable stay.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 09 Oct 2013
    "Great value" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    Very clean and tidy. Friendly and helpful hosts.

    Central location, quiet.

    Will use again. Many thanks.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 28 Aug 2013
    "Great place to stay" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    We only stayed one night, but everything was perfect - lovely service great rooms, and the personal spa (which is why I chose this motel for my wife) was fabulous. We will; be back!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 24 Jul 2013
    "The good and not so good of Burwood Manor Motel" This was given a review of 2 stars (Below Expected)

    This motel has the potential to do really well by doing some basic touch ups and being more responsive to customer feedback. The motel is situated in a quiet central location. The online booking process was effective; although the description did not match expectations. The Motel looked promising on the outside; but dated and tired on the inside. The room hadn't been aired for guest arrival and smelt musty. The toilet did not flush properly. The wireless internet didn't work at the far end where we were staying. The furniture was old and tired. Recommend that if these specific units are advertised on special as a hot deal that it is a positive experience for the customers so that they return and recommend to others. Unfortunately; until improvements are made, we are reluctant to return to Burwood Manor Motel. This motel has the opportunity to turn their business around for the better to create a point of difference and value where customers will want to stay longer and return.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 25 July 2013

    I am sorry the room was not up to your expectations. Our Studio rooms are big, spacious and has a high Tudor style roof which makes it a bit colder due to the wet and cold weather but there is enough heaters and electric blankets on the beds. My record shows that the free wi-fi of 20mb had been used by 2 users. Our rooms are aired quite frequently but due to the wet weather you may not feel it. Anyway thank you very much for your feedback and it is really appreciated.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 24 Jul 2013
    "1 night stay for 3" This was given a review of 1 star (Poor)

    I was disappointed with the overall cleanliness of the place as there were very old cob webs all over the rooms. I found it very dated it needs a fresh coat of paint. the spa had a lot of hair in and around it too. it also not a good idea keeping towels in the spa room as they are damp before you use them. But the pressure of the shower was great.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 05 Apr 2013
    "Definitely worthy or a good review" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    Requested a quiet room away from traffic and my wish was granted.

    Clean, tidy and comfy with 2 armchairs rather than couch.

    Would definitely recommend.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Saturday, 6 April 2013

    Hi Lyn, thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to have you with us! Thank you also for the great feedback, it is always so awesome to received positive comments from our customers. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any future accommodation needs, we'll be sure to reserve the same quiet unit for you.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 13 Mar 2013
    "Would stay again." This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    Friendly host, quiet, roomy unit not new but spotlessly clean and well appointed.

    Liked the high ceilings and enjoyed the Spa and Sauna.

    Not far from the river and close (walking distance) to a variety of restaurants, shops and food outlets.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 13 March 2013

    Hi Neville & Anne, thank you very much for the positive review submitted to us via Jasons Website. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. If you have any future accommodation requrements, please do not hesitate to contact any of the friendly Burwood Motel team. I look forward to hosting you again!

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 14 Jan 2013
    "Good place to stay" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    Unit clean and tidy, close to the city centre and the shops. Good place to stay

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 08 Dec 2012
    "great stay." This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    it was awesome . my girlfreind and i had a great stay. thankyou to the owner for helping me when i locked the keys in the car.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 05 Sep 2012
    "Adequate" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    Everything worked and was clean and tidy.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 07 May 2012
    "A lovely getaway" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    This accomodation is first class, clean, quiet and handy to town - it suited our needs very well and we would have no hesitation in recommending Burwood Manor Motel to our family and friends.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 22 Feb 2012
    "Burwood Maner Motel Reveiw" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    Motel booked on line, able to choose which room we wished to have, all paid for on line very easy. On arrival receptionist knew who we were and welcomed us. Room was very clean and tidy along with good parking outside your room not at the other end of forcourt ideal for our stay. We locked our room key in the room and the receptionist was very obliging and opened our room straight away to retrieve our key. This was our second stay at Burwood and will do so in the future for the cost this is value for money.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 11 Jul 2011
    "IMMACULATE" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    We booked this accomodation based on the reviews we read on the website and we werent disappointed at all! The staff were excellent! Helpful and very polite. The accomodation itself was immaculately clean and very tidy and modern. We are always fussy about the standard of cleanliness in the hotels and motels we stay at and this motel was of a high standard. We will be booking our stays here each time we visit Wanganui in the future!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 07 Dec 2010
    "Pleasurable new find" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    When unable to find a vacancy in our usual accommodation, we looked for a reasonably priced place to stay. On checking via the 'net' we found Burwood Manor Motel and when we went there were so positively surprised. The price was very reasonable (excellent in fact), the setting was reasonably quiet and the rooms themselves were above the standard we would have expected! This will now be our regular accommodation when in Whanganui!

    4/5

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified
More Reviews

Post a Review

You have to be a 'My Jasons' member to post reviews. Not a member? Register here.