Thornton Lodge Motel

Self Rated

User Rated

New Zealand > North Island > Hawkes Bay > Waipukurau > Waipukurau Motels, Motor Lodges & Motor Inns
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • We have detected that you do not have Javascript enabled or the latest version of Flash Player installed.

    Get Flash Player
    To view the Video you must enable Javascript and install Adobe Flash Player 9 or above.

  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
  • Thornton Lodge Motel, 2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2), Waipukurau, New Zealand
Thornton Lodge Motel is situated in Wonderful Waipukurau at the south end of town and a 5 minute walk to Waipukurau CBD.

The property provides 11 spacious ground floor units all serviced daily. 8 studio units (sleep 1-3) or 3 one bedroom units (sleep 1-5). All units are non-smoking.

Units are self-contained with fully equipped kitchen, microwave, shower, hair dryer, phone, wireless broadband internet, 5-channel Sky TV plus Freeview, electric blankets, heating, air-conditioning/heat pumps in some units, iron/ironing board. Portacot, highchair, fridge/freezer available.

Cooked or continental breakfast is available and served to your unit.

Onsite guests can enjoy use of a large outdoor swimming pool, barbecue, laundry, ample commercial vehicle off-street parking, carwash bay and secure storage/lock-up for bikes etc.

Thornton Lodge Motel is within close range of 6 golf courses and trout fishing for the outdoor enthusiasts and the beautiful beaches of Waipukurau all being a short drive away.
Member of Host Accomodation and MANZ member.

Enquire about our winter specials (conditions apply).

Amenities

  • 24hr reception/nightbell
  • Air-conditioning
  • Barbecue
  • Continental breakfast
  • Cooked breakfast
  • Cot/highchair
  • Drycleaning
  • Electric blankets
  • Fully equipped kitchen
  • Hair dryer
  • In-Room Broadband
  • In-Room Wireless
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Laundry/laundry service
  • Microwave
  • Off-street parking
  • Excellent off-street parking
  • Courtesy Car available
  • LCD TVs
  • Sky 5-channel plus sports 1 & 2
  • Secure Storage
  • Sky TV
  • Swimming pool
  • Work desk
  • Jasons verified

    Saturday, 26 April 2014
    "Overnight 18 April"

    Although everything appeared clean and tidy, we were a bit disappointed in the old towels that were in our unit and would like to report that a couple of the pillows had an odour of being previously used - perhaps it's just time for them to be sanitised. Other than that, we had everything we required.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 29 July 2014

    Thanks for the time you have taken to write a review and we appreciate your comments . We only have recently taken over this motel and have taken you comments on board, We are pleased to advise that we have purchased new pillow and are in the process of replacing some of our older towels.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 3 March 2014
    "Amazing place to stay!"

    Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms are well equipped and tidy. Big, warm clean swimming pool.

    Close to Napier, Hastings.

    Bathroom fittings and furniture still functional, in mint condition and in good working order. May need upgrading to modern standards in the near future.

    Loved the quiet air conditioning on a very hot night!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 28 January 2014
    "Awesome place to stay!"

    Room was tidy, close to the pool, and staff were very helpful

    Definitely recommend

    Many Thanks

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 7 January 2014
    "Great place to stay!"

    Friendly hosts, nice place to stop, great pool too!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 26 December 2013
    "Good and functional."

    Our hosts were helpful and welcoming. Pool looked lovely and clean although we did not try it out. Only stayed one night. We were concerned about being next to the highway but it quietened down at night and we slept well. Interior slightly dated but was fine for one night.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 13 December 2013
    "Waipukurau"

    Lovely unit, clean and tidy and very big for the whole family. Hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Recommend to everyone wanting to stay down there.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Sunday, 15 December 2013

    Hi Heather, thanks for your time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 11 December 2013
    "Excellent experience"

    Had enjoyed staying here and wished we stayed for another night.

    The apartment/studio that we had booked felt just like home and everything was just so nice and cosy. Thank you :)

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Sunday, 15 December 2013

    Hi Denise, many thanks for your review - so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again, maybe longer next time :) Thanks Ness & Gilly

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 9 December 2013
    "Over night stay"

    Unit was nice and clean. Friendly staff. Road noise at times was quite loud.

    Generally good value for money

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Sunday, 15 December 2013

    Hi Warren. Thanks for taking the time to write a review - your comments are greatly appreciated.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 9 December 2013
    "Venue / Customer Service"

    Hi, nice venue though it would be nice if they put a little more effort into providing great customer service. I made a request and they couldn't even bring the information to my room.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Sunday, 15 December 2013

    Hi Donnalynn, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that your request was not attended to. We apologise for this (although we are unsure what request you had made)

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 12 November 2013
    "Great"

    What a small world, the lovely lady running the motel, Vanessa, and I went to primary school together.

    Lovely motel, would recommend

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Sunday, 15 December 2013

    Thanks and so lovely to see you again after all these years!!!! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 16 October 2013
    "Friendly welcome"

    We spent one night at this friendly motel - quiet and peasant. The owners were packing to leave as they had sold the business. We look forward to the new owners keeping the welcoming atmosphere.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 3 October 2013
    "Good"

    Clean and Tidy. Welcoming reception. Very helpful

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 26 September 2013
    "good value"

    friendly service, comfortable, well appointed,and excellent value for money

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 21 June 2013
    "excellrnt"

    warm friendly quiet ...12 out of 10

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 20 June 2013
    "Great wee place to stay"

    Place was clean and tidy and warm

    Very helpful and friendly people.

    Recommend to all

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 30 April 2013
    "Clean but oh so noisy"

    The cleanliness of the motel was outstanding and staff were very obliging and friendly, but we had no idea this was a truck stop and were disturbed by trucks leaving in the early morning, and by road noise.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 1 April 2013
    "motel review"

    nice clean tidy motel, all in great order only one minor drawback I do not think steak when cooked is odouriferous but I can understand the reasoning. The major problem for me was the volume of large noisy truck & trailer units that travel past the property at all hours of the night, this particular problem is not confined to this motel

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 23 January 2013
    "Great"

    Have stayed there before. Good reception. Clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 16 January 2013
    "'Cool' Motel"

    Arrived at hotel on a lovely hot day (33Degrees) to find that the air conditioning unit had been turned on for us. Bliss!

    Accommodation met all our requirements, including a swim in the pool to cool down.

    Very friendly and helpful. Had a great stay.

    Thanks

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Sunday, 13 January 2013
    "A Good Experience with Good People"

    We flew our own aeroplane into Waipukurau Airport to stay for two nights for a family celebration in the area. The location next to the airfield was all important for us but once we checked in there was much more to this motel than just the location. First the people were good to deal with, the room was satisfactory with better than average size. We were offered a courtesy car for use on a short term basis and drove to town although it was only a 10 minute walk. At the end of our stay our hosts were happy to drive us in their own vehicle to the airport which was close by but we had some baggage.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content

  • Friday, 4 January 2013
    "Great motel, worth a stay."

    This motel is highly recommended as the rooms are large with a very comfy bed. Bathrooms are spotless and a very good shower with lovely hot water. The kitchen area has all you need including a table and chairs. The double glazing is very good, which means you don't really notice the traffic. Air con units very quiet and effective.

    The owners go out of their way to help. We stayed for 11 days over Christmas and they looked after us very well.

    We recommend this motel to anyone staying or passing thru Waipukarau or Waipawa. Thanks again for making our stay with you so pleasurable. Kathie and Clive T

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 28 December 2012
    "Pleasant Surroundings"

    I found our 2 bedroom unit to be above average, air conditioning was on in our room which was a welcome relief upon arrival.

    Separate access to bathroom and kitchen areas from each bedroom.

    The pool was clean with varying depths so the little ones have fun too.

    No worries with door bashing from other cars, plenty of space here.

    Down to earth Hosts who are attentive to the things that matter.

    Surrounded by farm land and some sheep was a good outlook.

    The location is on a main road however the unit had double glazed windows and vehicle noise at night was quite acceptable.

    Very pleasant and will stay again when going that way.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 20 November 2012
    "Great motel"

    Friendly, helpful owners. Clean and tidy with a great swimming pool.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 4 October 2012
    "Family unit"

    An easy walk to town with kids. Good sized family unit for three kids. Clean and basic.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Sunday, 23 September 2012
    "Peaceful and pleasant"

    A lovely clean modern room with all that was promised. Friendly helpful service. Good for kids. A great location for the Pukeora Estate festival, which is why we were visiting. All in all, we were very happy with our choice to stay.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 11 June 2012
    "Overnite stay"

    Very clean and comfortable unit, lovely beds to sleep in. Handy to town and although on the main road, traffic noise wasn't even enough to be annoying. Cold afternoon when we arrived, would have been nice if heat pump had been turned on to warm the unit before we arrived. Pleasant hosts. Would certainly stay here again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content

  • Sunday, 27 May 2012
    "Excellent service"

    I stayed here for a month while working in the area, and have been delighted at the wonderful care and attention I received from the hosts and staff. They went out of their way to make me feel at home. All the comforts, quiet, very clean - a great place to stay for an extended period.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content

  • Sunday, 27 May 2012
    "A really great experience"

    My family of 7 adults and 2 children stayed at Thornton Lodge for 2 days. I have stayed in many motels and hotels throughout NZ and this experience was something very special. The hosts were very friendly and attentive and went out of their way to make our stay very special and enjoyable. We all came away feeling the same way and we strongly recommend Thornton so you can see what we mean.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 25 April 2012
    "Great Stay"

    We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Thornton Lodge. The management and staff were friendly and helpful, and it was much appreciated. We came there to relax, and we got what we came for. Thanks to all for having us.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Sunday, 15 April 2012
    "Thornto Lodge Motel, great stay."

    Received warm welcome & enjoyed very comfortable bed.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 13 December 2011
    "A friendly, value for money motel"

    The motel was reccomended by friends and we found their comments to be well founded. The room was excellent, with plenty of space to relax, as well as sleep, and the kitchen area was well equipped. The management were warm and friendly, and extremely helpful with regard to information about the local area and restaurants. We enjoyed our stay immensly.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content

  • Wednesday, 2 November 2011
    "Excellent service"

    We have had both our employees and ourselves stay at this motel. The service was excellent and very accommodating. Very welcoming with great knowledge about the area. The rooms are very clean with great outside area for the kids.

    Thanks for the stay

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content

  • Wednesday, 26 October 2011
    "Absolutely Wonderful"

    We were met at the unit,given a guided tour and shown the operation of various equipment and generally made very welcome.

    The bed was extremely comfortable (no roll together) and unit spacious with all home comforts and very clean.

    We could not have wished for better hosts

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 19 October 2011
    "Excellent, modern, very helpful hosts would recommend this Motel"

    The hosts went out of their way to assist us, the unit was great, very modern and roomy inside and clean and everything we could possibly need. Great parking area, and a really lovely swimming pool. Highly recommend this motel if you every need to stay in Waipukurau.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 26 September 2011
    "Quiet Cozy Comfort"

    I found the hosts cordial and welcoming. The property is very well cared for.

    The room was exceptionally clean, spacious and properly equipped. The price was very reasonable. The room was serviced regularly. I'll definitely come back when next in town.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 12 September 2011
    "clean, tidy, basic accomodation"

    We opted for the studio - guided by price!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 7 September 2011
    "Great stay"

    Had arrived at the motel and everything was clean and tidy as one would expect.

    friendly service and no problems had. Would recommend this motel to others.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content

  • Monday, 4 July 2011
    "Nice motel"

    Really friendly owners, nice unit, clean and tidy.

    We arrived late and they had turned the heater on for us.

    Would recommend, good location.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content

  • Friday, 24 June 2011
    "Thornton Lodge"

    We have stayed at Thornton Lodge a number of times during the last year or so and consistently have had excellent service. Units are always clean & tidy. Selwyn & Bernice are always around with a smile and go out of there way to ensure you have a good stay. Recommend highly to others.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content

  • Wednesday, 15 June 2011
    "Thornton Lodege"

    Thornton Lodge is immaculately presented. The hosts are efficient and friendly without being intrusive. Handy to town and very quiet! Rooms well equiped and heated. Extra blankets and pillows provided.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 8 June 2011
    "Friendly host and comfy units"

    We enjoyed our stay and warm welcome to the Thornton Lodge Motel. We have visited a few times and have found owners very hospitable and helpful and rooms well serviced. The rooms are a good size to be able to relax in.We are happy to go back there next time we are in the area.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content

  • Tuesday, 10 May 2011
    "The Extra Mile ! ! !"

    Fantastic accommodation - clean, crisp, tidy and great value for money. The kids loved the pool and the space to play. Was a great base for our family visit to the Hawkes Bay. Thanks again to the wonderful owners who went the extra mile for us.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 9 February 2011
    "Well Done"

    Our visit was seamless! Pleasant staff and a relaxed atmosphere. The pool was perfect for colling off and everything else was clean and tidy. Thanks for a great stay!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 8 February 2011
    "Excellent"

    Would recommend to all, great place and the owners were fantastic.Will be staying again for syre

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 7 February 2011
    "2 night stay"

    Lovely clean spacious unit well off the road. Very accomodating and friendly hosts. Lived up to all our needs and expectations, very comfortable stay.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 27 January 2011
    "Great Stay"

    Very tidy and clean . Friendly and helpful owners. Even all the rain couldn't dampen our stay. Would stay again anytime. Thanks

    Tim and Jacqui Johnson

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 3 September 2010
    "Wonderful Stay"

    My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the motel, despite the fact that we only were able to stay one night. We really liked the layout of our unit and the surroundings, overall a great stay, we look forward to visiting again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 1 September 2010
    "iendly and comfortable"

    We rented a one bed unit which had 3 single beds and one queen. We liked t he friendly welcome, comfortable beds, clean and tidy unit with plenty of room for the three of us. This motel is well located for golf and eating in town.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
More Reviews

Post a Review

You have to be a 'My Jasons' member to post reviews. Not a member? Register here.

Modify Search Back to Waipukurau Accommodation (Motels & Motor Lodges)

Address

2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2)
Waipukurau
New Zealand
4200

Phone Number

  • 0800 846 768
  • 06 858 8004
Email
  • Send
  • Thank you Thank you for your enquiry. It has been sent to the property and they will process it within 24 hours. Should you not receive a response in a timely manner, please phone the property directly.

View Map

Thornton Lodge Motel
2307 Takapau Road (State Highway 2)
Waipukurau
New Zealand
4200
Loading
Loading...
Transport & Rental
Book Online
  • Family Unit - Unit 1 (1 Bedroom)

    A delightful one bedroom unit with three single beds in the bedroom and one Queen bed in the lounge/ Kitchen area. Full cooking facilities. Looks out onto barbeque area and large outdoor swimming pool. 32" LCD TV with Freeview & 5 Sky...
    more info >


    Loading...
  • Family Unit - Unit 2 (1 Bedroom)

    A spacious one bedroom unit with air conditioning /heat pump. This unit has two single beds in the bedroom, one queen bed and one single bed in the lounge area. Separate kitchen with full cooking facilities. 32" LCD TV with Freeview...
    more info >


    Loading...
  • Executive Studio (Studio)

    Lovely spacious air conditioned studio unit with one queen size bed and one single bed. Full cooking facilities for your convenience. Overlooks a large inviting swimming pool. Catches both the morning and afternoon sun. 32" LCD TV with...
    more info >


    Loading...
  • Studio (Studio)

    A spacious studio unt with a heat pump for your comfort in both winter and summer. One queen size bed and one single bed. Full cooking facilities. Over looks our large out door swimming pool and catches both the morning and...
    more info >


    Loading...
  • Small Studio - Unit 10 (Studio)

    This cosy studio with ensuite has a double bed. Tea & Coffee making facilities, Microwave and bar fridge. 32" LCD TV with Freeview and 5 Sky Channels (Sport 1 & 2, Discovery, Disney & Movies. FREE unlimited WIFI Ask us about...
    more info >


    Loading...
  • Family Unit (unit 11) (1 Bedroom)

    This is a spacious stand alone one bedroom family unit with rural views.. Two single beds in the bedroom and one queen bed in the lounge area. Cooking facilities include electric frypan, hob and microwave. Accessible bathroom. 32"...
    more info >


    Loading...
    • Today
    • Mon
      22 Dec
    • Tue
      23 Dec
    • Wed
      24 Dec
    • Thu
      25 Dec
    • Fri
      26 Dec
    • Sat
      27 Dec
  • $140
    $140
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    $140
    Book Now
  • $140
    $140
    $140
    $140
    $140
    $140
    $140
    Book Now
  • SOLD
    $125
    $125
    $125
    SOLD
    SOLD
    $125
    Book Now
  • SOLD
    $120
    $120
    $120
    $120
    $120
    $120
    Book Now
  • $110
    $150
    $115
    $115
    $115
    $115
    $115
    Book Now
  • SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    Book Now