Ashbrook Motel

Self Rated

User Rated

New Zealand > North Island > Central North Island > Taupo > Taupo Motels, Motor Lodges & Motor Inns
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
  • Ashbrook Motel, Taupo
Ashbrook Motel is located in a central quiet location in Taupo. It has 12 ground floor and 3 upstairs units and guests can choose from luxury 1&2brm suites. It is within a 500m radius of the town centre, restaurants, AC baths, golf courses and Lake Taupo.

Taupo is located in the centre of the North Island on the shores of Lake Taupo. Mount Ruapehu and Tongariro National Park are near the town. Fishing and water based adventure activities are popular in the town.

Ashbrook Motel is located in 9 Scannell Street. Tariff: 2 persons $129-$220; extra person $20; peak/seasonal rates may apply; corporate rates available. Book your Taupo accommodation through Jasons.

Amenities

  • Barbecue
  • Continental breakfast
  • Cooked breakfast
  • Cot/highchair
  • Drycleaning
  • Electric blankets
  • Fully equipped kitchen
  • Hair dryer
  • In-Room Spa
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Laundry/laundry service
  • Microwave
  • Pets by arrangement
  • Playground
  • Sky TV
  • Spa Pool
  • Trampoline
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 10 April 2015
    "Good stay"

    clean plce, friendly staff

    And a quiet surroundings

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 9 April 2015
    "Ashbrook Review"

    The Ashbrook is a very good motel, room very clean and everything you need available. The only thing would be more comfortable lounge chairs.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 17 March 2015
    "Excellent Stay"

    Lovely clean modern motel with everything you would expect. Friendly staff, would definitely stay there again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 14 January 2015
    "Won't be staying again"

    Dirty floors in living area, rubbish under the couch, poor parking. Shower door didn't close properly and shower head was loose. Tiny beds.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 14 January 2015

    Hi Thanks for your review but I find it most disappointing for several reasons and I will try to respond to each of your issues to give a balanced view for readers. Firstly you booked a unit for a family of five and on arrival you had 6. We spoke to your parents and they stated you thought you had booked a larger suite. To help out we gave you a mattress and bedding for the extra at no charge as we had no other units available.(We normally would not over populate a room). We took it from speaking to your parents that they were happy with what was the best we could do in the circumstances with the room. Regarding cleanliness, on your own volition you moved our furniture around. This was possibly why there may have been some accumulation of dust.(we clean under static furniture weekly). Re parking. We have plenty of parking and in your case you had two vehicles including a commercial Ute and trailer(Needing 3 Parks). We had plenty of options and we always arrange clients with trailers special areas to park and reserve them on request.(We had two car and trailer areas available at this time so not sure what time you came to park to describe it as poor) The shower issue you may have a point as it appears the slider may be loosening a little but these are things we like people to point out so we can remedy them. Overall I am disappointed and I think some of your comments are disingenuous and overemphasised but I thank you for your review and sorry we could not meet your expectations. Maybe more communication at the time by us all may have helped but we thought the communication we had although with your parents and not yourself everything was fine. I wish you well.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 5 January 2015
    "Stay at Ashbrook Motel"

    Comfortable and clean motel.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 11 September 2014
    "Very pleasant stay"

    We had a very good stay last weekend. The motel is very new, clean and tidy as in the photo. Nice straight drive way, easy car access that even my wife can handle. Owner is warm and welcome. Convenient to city centre for shopping and food in the evening. The entire experience is simply comfortable.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 12 February 2014
    "Lovely people, great service"

    Nice setting, rooms were very clean and in excellent order. The owners were very accomodating and moved in extra bed/s at very short notice on what was an extremely busy weekend for them. Would certainly recommend.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 13 January 2014
    "Lovely motel"

    A lovely modern motel. It was clean and well maintained. The unit we were in was spacious and our family of five fitted in well. There was plenty of space outside too which was great. The kids enjoyed the use of the spa. A wonderful stay.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 19 November 2013
    "Comfortable, convenient motel"

    2nd time we have stayed there this year, each time just after a bed and easy travel to restaurants - fits the bill well

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 31 October 2013
    "Excellent place to stay"

    Friendly ,welcoming and very clean.Nice place to stay.Highly recommended.

    I rate Ashbrook Motel a 5

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 17 September 2013
    "All Good"

    Nice tidy rooms, no complaints thanks

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Sunday, 28 April 2013
    "Good value for money"

    Very clean ,tidy accommodation,very warm welcome.Very good value for money.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 4 April 2013
    "Nice enough place, noisy neighbours"

    The motel room was modern and nice enough, although at $165 I felt it was a bit overpriced, should have been around $120-$130. On the first night we had a big group of people staying in the room next to us who also seemed to know a bunch of people in the other rooms. They had lots of kids running around screaming all day and until about 9:30pm at night. The adults stood outside their room drinking and smoking all day and night which meant we had to keep our curtains and windows closed the whole time. Not sure what procedure is normally, but I sort of expect that the motel owners might say something to the guests about this kind of behaviour. The second night once this lot had left was a lot more pleasant.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 4 April 2013

    Thank you for your response and positve comment about the room. To address the issues you raised firstly the rate was for Easter for the 1 brm suite you were in which sleeps up to 4 guests. This is a major weekend and the rate was below our Rack rate normally for 4 guests. My tip for the future would be you may get better value if you could find a Studio for 2 guests although the market rate for those at Easter I suggest would still be in the $135-$165 range. Regarding other guests behaviour we apologise for any inconvenience caused. We generally don't have any problems in this area. This instance we were aware of the noise of the kids. The manager actually spoke to two of the parents at about 8:30 and it took awhile to calm the kids down. It is a difficult area as we have to balance the needs of all guests so the word consideration is paramount. We unfortunately cannot control guests actions only react to them so we have to rely on trust and goodwill of guests to consider others while staying. This said we very much sympathise with your sentiments and we wonder what other options could have been taken. Maybe a polite word or request directly from other guests as well might help. We were happy for you to advise us at anytime about your concerns. We need to know at the time to best deal with the situation although we had already taken some initiative in this case. Thanks again.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 29 January 2013
    "He is unfriendly."

    How does it feel when the manager of a hotel is unkind to you? Not good, right?

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 30 January 2013

    Hi Frank. Thank you for your time to comment on your stay. I hope we have the correct booking in that you booked under the name of Yongduck Park. We are disappointed in the review so we wish to inform readers as to the possible reason why. The Manager spoke to you on check in and requested an imprint of your credit card for incidental charges as outlined in the conditions you agreed to by ticking the boxes in paragraph 10 (Jason's Terms and conditions and on the Ashbrook Motel terms and conditions when you booked.) We then tried to explain it to you but you did not wish to fulfil the conditions. We took that you understood what we were saying as you replied your wife had a Cr card. We are presuming it was at this time you may have felt the way you do. The issue was resolved by us being friendly and letting you stay without presenting your Cr card, showing you to your suite. Next morning we chatted and you stated you were happy with your room and you would stay again so we thank you for those positive comments. Regarding the Cr card issue we can only say that we were within our rights to refuse your booking but of course we would not like to turn people away and we aim to have happy and contented people staying with us. We however appreciate if your perception was we weren't friendly at the time we raised this issue then we apologise and wish you well. Regards

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 24 December 2012
    "Highly recommended"

    Great motel, clean, modern, spacious and reasonably priced. Would highly recommend.

    5/5

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 28 November 2012
    "TAUPO CHALLENGE WEEKEND"

    THIS ACCOMMODATION WAS TOP OF THE RANGE AND IN AN AWESOME LOCATION, WELL SERVICED, CLEAN AND TIDY. I GUESS YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!! WOULD DEFINITELY STAY AGAIN, THANKS

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 11 October 2012
    "Excellent accomodation"

    Very clean and tidy, units serviced every day, nice and quiet too just off the main roads, close enought to town to walk, would stay there again no problem,

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 18 June 2012
    "Ashbrook motel"

    Great motel to stay at with family.Modern spacious unit.Friendly staff&would definately stay there again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 20 March 2012
    "Excellent accommodation"

    We ended up staying for two nights in our very comfortable, clean and well set up room. Our family who were visiting from Canada commented on the great value for money that these rooms were.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Saturday, 17 March 2012
    "Night at Ashbrooke"

    The property is clean and tidy - nice and newly redecorated, beds comfy, owners were good about us checking out later than we were supposed to. thx

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 14 March 2012
    "Quiet, well appointed, clean and comfortable."

    Modern appearance. Very clean and comfortable room. Friendly and efficient staff. Would recommend.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 14 March 2012
    "3 nights in Taupo"

    A perfect stay in a perfect motel. I stayed there 4 years ago

    and was suprised it still had that brand new feeling. Everything

    was spotless and fully functional , the spa magnificent and the

    bed so comfortable. I wish all motels were this good.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 14 April 2011
    "Good experience"

    Easy to book and delivered what we expected. Good quality and value motel close to town .

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Saturday, 27 November 2010
    "TOO NOISY"

    Motel unit was lovely very clean & all the mod cons it must be a fairly new motel very nice. It`s a shame that you can`t get a hold of the hosts when you need them there was a party going on in the unit next door at 12.30 I had enough & tried ringing the office to ask them to ask party goers to tone it down, the number listed in the motel information folder in my room, was never answered, thankfully at 1.30 another guest went next door & asked them to shut there doors & keep it down which after 20 minutes they finally did. I think you should be able to get a hold of the manager all hours!! This was unacceptable to me my kids had a big sports compeptition the next day & were kept up most of the night.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 4 April 2013

    Firstly we take any issues raised seriously and we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We thank the writer for her positive comments about our Motel. Regarding the issue raised we seldom have any problems with guest behaviour, we would like to think this is an isolated incident, however we obviously have to rely on trust and goodwill that guests do consider others when staying. We can't control guests actions only react to them.. In this instant unfortunately our system failed in that we did not hear the phone at that time which is unusual as we are available at any time. In this or any other circumstance there was no intent to ignore the call.(Maybe we need our hearing checked!).Our other option to be contacted is to ring the doorbell which may in this case been a good back up and we would hopefully have heard that. We looked into the matter the next day and the unit concerned were a group who were having a few drinks but not a party as such.(we have a strict no party policy).They were apologetic the next day and to their credit they ceased their actions when asked by another guest who we thanked for her action. If aware of the situation we would have reacted instantly . Once again we are frustrated this happened and we are going to make sure we have the ability to respond every time in future as we are reviewing both our phone and door bell systems Regards Mike. .

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 8 September 2010
    "Ashbrook Motel Taupo"

    Fabulous,clean and the owners were awesome

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
More Reviews

Post a Review

You have to be a 'My Jasons' member to post reviews. Not a member? Register here.

Back to Taupo Accommodation (Motels & Motor Lodges)

Phone Number

  • 0800 TAUPO 1 (0800 828 761)
  • 07 378 5836
Email
  • Send
  • Thank you Thank you for your enquiry. It has been sent to the property and they will process it within 24 hours. Should you not receive a response in a timely manner, please phone the property directly.

View Map

Ashbrook Motel
9 Scannell Street
Taupo
New Zealand
2730
Loading
Loading...
Transport & Rental