Wrights By The Sea Motel

Self Rated

User Rated

New Zealand > North Island > Wellington > Paraparaumu Beach > Paraparaumu Beach Motels, Motor Lodges & Motor Inns
  • Wrights by the Sea Motel, Paraparaumu beach
  • Wrights by the Sea Motel, Paraparaumu beach
  • Executive Studio
  • Family room downstairs
  • Family room upstairs
  • One bed sutido
  • One bed queen bedroom
  • Wrights by the Sea Motel, Paraparaumu beach
  • Wrights by the Sea Motel, Paraparaumu beach
  • Executive Studio
  • Family room downstairs
  • Family room upstairs
  • One bed sutido
  • One bed queen bedroom

The best location on the coast!  Two minute walk to Paraparaumu Beach, cafes, restaurants, hotels and accross the road from the famous Paraparaumu Golf Club with Kapiti Island ferry 200 metres away.   Very close to the train hub into West Pac Stadium and Wellington.

Perfect spot to Interisalnder ferry jump on or off being 35 Minutes north of the Interislander and Bluebridge ferry terminal.

Free Unlimited WiFi 50+ Sky channels including 4 Movie channels and 5 Sky sport Channels

Wheel chair access special needs rooms on the ground floor

10% discount Super Gold Card when booked through our site.

Free shuttle from the local airport and train station on request

Family rooms, one bedroom units executive studios delux studios and luxary studio.

Freshly renovated rooms which are light, warm and quiet all with private outside areas either balcony or deck.

Hosted by Coops and Vick with a real genuine personal touch.

 

 

 

 

Amenities

  • Access facilities
  • Access facilities
  • Air-conditioning
  • Airport Nearby
  • Babysitting
  • Barbecue
  • Bath
  • Bed/s - Double
  • Bed/s - Queen
  • Bed/s - Single
  • Bicycle hire
  • Business Facilities
  • Business services
  • Casual
  • Chargeback
  • Children Welcome
  • Clock/Radio
  • Coach/boat/truck park
  • Conference Facilities
  • Continental breakfast
  • Cot/highchair
  • DVD player
  • Electric blankets
  • Email Facilities
  • Family dining
  • Fax/photocopy facilities
  • Fridge/freezer
  • Fully equipped kitchen
  • Functions/Parties
  • Hair dryer
  • In-Room Broadband
  • In-Room Spa
  • In-Room Wireless
  • Internet access
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Kitchenette
  • Laundry/laundry service
  • Microwave
  • Off-street parking
  • Outside dining
  • Pets by arrangement
  • Phone
  • Secure Storage
  • Self-Contained Cottage/Apartment
  • Sky TV
  • Tour bookings
  • Tour Info/Booking Desk
  • Weddings
  • Weekly Rates
  • Wireless Internet
  • Work desk
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 24 April 2013
    "A pleasant stay"

    The room was comfortable and well equipped.

    Parking on site was rather cramped, but not impossible, as the motel appeared to be full.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 23 June 2015

    Hi there thanks for your review. The motel is now under new management with Coops and Vicks the new hosts. We have been busy with a full renovation freshen up of the entire complex. Inside almost complete and then we will be on to the gardens and developing a new BBQ area for summer. The car parks are now painted which assist keeping everyone in the right spot. Have a great winter and we would love to see you back. Coops

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 15 April 2013
    "Excellent facilities, roomy and very comfortable."

    The name gives the impression of sea views which it does not have from the room we were in.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 8 April 2013
    "nice large room in quiet location"

    very nice large room at a great price, quiet location and good price. We only stopped here while driving north from the ferry and wanting to get away from the main road. close to the hotel was a nice beach and some shops

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 3 April 2013
    "NZ Holiday"

    This motel suited our needs perfectly and is ideally located; not only with a bus stop right on the doorstep (we did not arrive with a car) but just 5 minutes walk to the beach and shops. Very clean, serviced daily and even a little terrace on which to enjoy the afternoon sun. The owners and the staff are friendly and helpful. Overall good value for money.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 13 March 2013
    "What luck to pick such a great place to stay"

    Stay at Wrights was excellent. Warren in reception was most helpful.

    Would stay again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 11 March 2013
    "Great location"

    Very clean, great location, staff friendly and helpful. Rating 4

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 6 March 2013
    "2 bedroom unit"

    The property was very well located , close to the beach and only a short walk to numerous cafes and shops.

    We were in a 2 bedroom unit , whilst not luxurious all was clean and well presented. We were disappointed that there was no privacy for the main bedroom from the second mezzanine bedroom above

    The owners were welcoming and helpful.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 25 February 2013
    "Wrights by the Sea"

    Having booked online I arrived at the motel with no booking in their comp. Very obliging host found a lovely room and nothing was too difficult. Very pleasant stay...thanks guys.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 14 February 2013
    "very comfortable"

    Very nice and comfortable. Would definitely stay again. The queen bed and 3 singles upstairs was exactly what we needed for family of 5.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 7 January 2013
    "Tidy well appointed motel"

    Enjoyed our stay and found the motel well positioned, tidy, well appointed and overall value for money.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 17 December 2012
    "Great spot"

    Nice rooms, friendly proprieter, very short walk to the beach and shops.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 15 November 2012
    "Ideal for our stay"

    The room we were booked in was exceptionally clean, as were the towels and linens. The tea/coffee/hot chocolate selection was great - especially liked the plunger coffee option, and the fresh milk in a real bottle. Plenty of local information was provided in the room, including eating out options. Only complaint would be that the microwave was a bit old. Overall we had an excellent stay.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 14 November 2012
    "Spacious but "cooking facilities" questionable"

    We stayed in the "Luxury studio room" also called the Tui Room, which advertised as having a kitchen with "cooking facilities". These facilities turned out to be a microwave, electric frying pan and a jug so this description is a bit of a stretch and somewhat disappointing considering their website claims the room has hotplates.

    The room was very spacious and tidy with a large north facing balcony. The bed was comfy and the heat pump turned out to be handy due to a chilly spring night.

    The bathroom is very small and not the one pictured for this room on their website, none the less it was clean and tidy

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 14 November 2012

    Hi Matt , sorry but we had just previously taken out the hot plates from that room and are replacing with new ones. If you had mentioned to me I would have put the new ones in there that day for you, my fault for not being quick enough on that. I've checked the photo on the website for the Luxury room and it is the correct one, I agree that its not that big but it is relatively new and would be fine for two people.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 17 October 2012
    "A good hotel for the business traveller"

    This was an older style, typical Kiwi motel unit with stainless steel shower and furniture a bit dated but whole unit very clean. The beds were not super comfortable, but certainly were adequate for one night. Lots of warm bedding was provided which was good for a late winter's night. Sound proofing to other rooms was very poor and the early morning hours saw every bus in the area going down the street in front of our unit, so not a great sleep if you needed to sleep in as we did after a late flight from overseas. For business folks, a very quiet night was evident prior to 7am. Staff and owners were friendly and parking was fine if you had a smaller car. Good walking distance to the beach. I would have expected to pay at least $20 less for this motel unit, but since no Wellington rooms available that night, it still was worth the drive north on our way to the Manawatu.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 15 October 2012
    "Peaceful"

    Thank you for the lovely stay at your Motel. I found the stay quiet and peaceful. This is what I required during my stay. The bed was comfortable and I had everyhting I needed in the Motel room. The room was nice and tidy and I really appreciated my room been tidied daily along with the bed being made.

    The hot water didn't last long, but that was okay. I also like having the fully length mirror in the room as well.

    Thank you for the stay.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 10 October 2012
    "Pretty good"

    Freindly. Allowed us early check-in as requested and everything OK. Parking is just a bit tight when place is full.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 3 October 2012
    "Great place"

    Friendly staff, clean room, excellent location close to Kapiti Cafes

    etc

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 2 October 2012
    "Great Place To Stay"

    This was our second overnight stay here and we had a lovely studio room, modern decor, good size, cozy and warm, good size bathroom. Very comfortable bed. The location is perfect, very close to the beach, shops and all the restaurants and eating places. We visit this area once a year and will always stay here.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 12 March 2012
    "Good position"

    The motel was well postioned for me to run a class for 3 days over at the Paraparaumu Golf Club. The little shopping centre with plenty of choice for Cafes and takaways was a short walk (2min) around the corner. The larger Coastlands Mall with all the usual big retailers and chain franchises was about a 10min walk. The room was very clean and everything in good order. The lack of curtains (just had vertical blinds) meant quite bright until actual darkness fell.

    The lady at reception was "businesslike" and professional. Value for money but nothing noteworthy apart from cool classic car-sales yard over the road, worth a browse!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 23 February 2012
    "Reasonably OK"

    Room clean & tidy but found it unusual that hair-dryer, iron & coffee plunger all had to be requested at reception. Disappointed no on site parking was available when returning to Motel late on Sat evening.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 23 February 2012

    Hi Tony Thank you for your feedback. We find that keeping irons and hairdryers in the office gives us the opportunity to check them regularly for faults. We like to give out coffee plungers personally to those who require them so that we can promote the brand of coffee which we use. This coffee is produced in Blenheim with a portion of the sale price going to Tuatara recovery programmes. It was unfortunate that someone must have taken up too much space so that there was not room for your vehicle when you arrived home. We do request that people park between the lines however, I am not able to police car parking at all hours.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 16 February 2012
    "Put in my place"

    The property is clean and tidy. The welcome was pleasant. The host was a little abrupt at departure and very unhappy with our unplanned later check out. I was certainly put in my place.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Friday, 17 February 2012

    Thank you for putting your name to your critique Danielle. We like honest feedback. We can cater for late checkouts if we are advised in advance of the need. Despite a booking confirmation, a signed check in slip, a sign on the reception wall, a notice in the unit and mention in the information booklet in the room, you were amazed at 11.30am when you finally checked, out that check out is required by 10am (if no prior arrangement is made). Even after it was mentioned to your husband at approximately 10.30am. We have a window of between two and three hours to clean all the units ready for the next guest arrivals, therefore planning needs to be done if late checkouts are required. Thank you. Lynne

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 10 June 2011
    "Lovely Dog Friendly Motel"

    Really enjoyed our stay. Lynne was very welcoming to us and my 2 small dogs. The room was clean and quiet with small grassy area outside which was ideal. The motel is close to shops with a great paved walkway by the beach for a short dog walk. Would definitely stay again when travelling to Wellington and highly recommend.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 8 June 2011
    "Would not recommend"

    This was a last minute booking and although the motel was clean and catered for most of our needs we were all disappointed with our stay. Lynne was very gruff and unpleasent and ended up charging us a lot more than what her website ever suggested. We felt we could have had a much nicer stay elsewhere for the money we paid, none of us would return.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Friday, 17 February 2012

    Very hard to make a response when the critique is anonymous.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 18 May 2011
    "Convenient and comfortable"

    This was our last stop on the way to taking possession of our new home, after 11 weeks on the road, following the Christchurch earthquakes. We were rather tired of the motel lifestyle!

    Wrights was comfortable and Lynne helpful. The unit was clean and contained everything we needed. We were able to buy takeaways nearby.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 27 April 2011
    "Great motel"

    My husband and I loved this motel. The room was large and comfortable. Big bathroom, too. Lynne, the owner, was very kind and helpful, even when we needed lots of assistance to book a tour and organize ourselves. This was the nicest of the five places we stayed on our New Zealand holiday. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 20 April 2011
    "o"

    lovely room nice and clean, nice quiet motel. would definately stay here again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 23 February 2011
    "Clean, tidy, perfect"

    Checking in was a breeze, and Lynn was very helpful. The room was clean and tidy, well appointed. The cleaning staff did a great job and were unobtrusive. The balcony was a bonus!!

    Really really good. Would definitely book again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 24 December 2010
    "weekend by the sea"

    Lovely room and friendly hosts. We were right by the road so it was rather noisy with traffic at all hours of the night and late night party goers. Good facilities and we were able to cook most things we wanted in the electric frying pan which was supplied. Close to the beach and really handy to shopping and cafes. All in all a great place to stay for a weekend getaway.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Sunday, 12 September 2010
    "wastage of money"

    I didn't like the location of the hotel and also staff was not friendly. Will not recommend anyone to waste time there

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Sunday, 12 September 2010

    I am sorry you disliked the location, but you did choose to stay here. A one night stay is not long enough to sample all that the Kapiti Coast has to offer. I am sure, had you had a longer stay, you would have discovered the many attractions of this area. I am also sorry you perceived the staff to be unfriendly. Did that have something to do with the fact that you only booked for two people. You had a child with you and you were charged for the extra person. Perhaps that upset you. We treat all people as equal, here, including children. We do our best at all times to be friendly and helpful and have seldom had a complaint in that area.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 19 August 2010
    "great place to stay"

    my husband stayed at Wrights by the Sea overnight, the room was great, bed comfortable, we had a good night sleep, some noise with boy racers through the night but other than that extremely comfortable.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Sunday, 12 September 2010

    Thank you for your comments. Feedback is always useful to us. Sorry about the boy racers. Not much I can do about that.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
More Reviews

Post a Review

You have to be a 'My Jasons' member to post reviews. Not a member? Register here.

Back to Paraparaumu Beach Accommodation (Motels & Motor Lodges)

Phone Number

  • 04 902 7600
  • 0508 902 760
  • 04 902 7601
Email
  • Send
  • Thank you Thank you for your enquiry. It has been sent to the property and they will process it within 24 hours. Should you not receive a response in a timely manner, please phone the property directly.

View Map

Wrights By The Sea Motel
387-389 Kapiti Road
Paraparaumu Beach
New Zealand
5252
Loading
Loading...
Transport & Rental