Matakana Motel

Self Rated

User Rated

New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana > Matakana Motels, Motor Lodges & Motor Inns
Accommodation: 16 units available consisting of 6 studios with tea & coffee facilities & 10x2 bedroom self-contained units, one with spa bath. Wheelchair access available.
Features: heated outdoor swimming pool, gym room, playground, trampoline, laundry facilities, BBQ available, Wi-Fi, 5 Sky channels, air conditioning (some units). Only 50 metres to local restaurants, bars, local market & boutique shops. 5km to Omaha surf beach & 14 kms to Goat Island. Or if you prefer a slower pace, Matakana is surrounded by the finest vineyards & wineries.
Tariff: studios from $130, 2 Bedroom units from $195 and $20 additional per person. Visa & MasterCard accepted. Resident manager: Maree.

Amenities

  • Access facilities
  • Barbecue
  • Bath
  • Business services
  • Continental breakfast
  • Cooked breakfast
  • Cot/highchair
  • Drycleaning
  • Electric blankets
  • Fully equipped kitchen
  • Guest lounge
  • Hair dryer
  • In-Room Broadband
  • In-Room Spa
  • In-Room Wireless
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Laundry/laundry service
  • Microwave
  • Mini bar
  • Pets by arrangement
  • Playground
  • Trampoline
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 9 May 2014
    "Matakana House Motel"

    Excellent location for access to Matakana Village and Saturday market. New owners are making positive changes, refurbishing rooms, adding new facilities.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 30 April 2014
    "Pretty Great!"

    We popped in to stay for a night for a wedding. The room was lovely and well equipped with everything we could possibly need, very clean and comfortable. And to make it even better the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    The only reason we haven't given a 5/5 rating is that we had a deck just outside our room, and children were allowed to run around outside along our deck from about 7.30am, which woke us far too early for our relaxing night away.

    I would highly recommend! And We will definitely be back, perhaps outside of the school holidays! :)

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 16 April 2014
    "Perfect cheap motel"

    Perfect simple cheap motel. Basic but spacious. Excellent location in the heart if Matakana.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 2 April 2014
    "Great location"

    We stayed for one night with two young children in unit 10, a ground floor unit. The unit was basic, but clean and well maintained and had everything we needed. There was a nice play area with a trampoline on site. The location couldn't be more convenient, two minutes walk to the shops. Recommended.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 2 April 2014
    "As requested to submit"

    Property clean and tidy

    No sink unit a bit of a surprise and entire standard very low budget which we would have been happy to pay more and have higher standard of room

    TV too small and pillows low cost so once again budget price could be overlooked to gain guests willing to pay more for better standard

    Lights on all night outside so this was also disturbing if you wanted quiet secluded spot?

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 1 April 2014
    "One night in Matakana"

    Loved it, highly recommended. The staff were super friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, thought it was really good value and we'd definately stay again, cheers

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 26 March 2014
    "Lovely place to stay."

    Clean, quiet, friendly, wonderful place to stay. We will definitely be back.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 20 March 2014
    "Good value and comfortable"

    Four is had a 2 bedroom, 2 storey unit. Basic and clean, comfortable beds. A quiet and restful location with relaxing eating places within a short distance.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 19 March 2014
    "Average"

    When I first walked into the room there was a awful smell which put me off immediately. A very basic room and I thought highly priced at $125 a night.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 11 March 2014
    "Our Stay"

    We had a good stay at this motel, the room was good but needed upgrading.

    The bed was excellent and the staff were very good and helpful.Non existent Air-conditioning is not very good.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 5 March 2014
    "OK bit run down needs freshing up"

    its a great location walk into the pub car park from the motel the room we were in was a bit basic had bits of unpainted wall.

    No sound proofing between rooms so its a bit noisy some times

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 5 March 2014
    "The best Motel!"

    We have been staying in Matakana Motel for the last 6 years. Lots of family memories! The best choice if you go to stay in Matakana. Be quck with reservation though, it is very popular spot.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 3 March 2014
    "Relaxing stay"

    The kitchen unit I stayed in was clean and very comfortable. Motel was in centre of Matakana but still nice and quiet at night. I had a very relaxing stay.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 17 February 2014
    "Amazing"

    I had booked two nights at this property as we had a wedding to attend and I must say this is a beautiful Motel, just like being at home. Very lovely and tidy and so close to the township. The staff are very friendly and approachable.

    Am more than happy to recommend this to friends & family, just wished we had more time to use the spa...

    Next trip to Matakana we will definitely be booking in at the Matakana House Motel. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 14 February 2014
    "Studio unit"

    Room was great, very clean and tidy.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 13 February 2014
    "Weelend away"

    Had a great stay here, nice and clean and quiet, very handy to walk to the pub or dinner. Would stay here again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 7 February 2014
    "Great place to stay"

    We stayed in a generously sized two bedroom motel unit, complete with porch. The complex is very charming, with a short cut through to the main street. Great water pressure in the shower, and comfortable leather couches in the lounge. Would definitely stay again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 4 February 2014
    "lovely stay"

    stayed for one night at Matakana and i have to say was nicely surprised firstly on the extremely comfortable and clean double room, the proximity to Matakana Village is excellent (1 minute away).

    If you require good accomodation with excellent location at a great price than this is it.

    Well done!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 29 January 2014
    "Matakana House Motel Stay"

    Very spacious and well appointed rooms. Great location.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 29 January 2014
    "Ok but nothing great"

    Room was very basic, there had been damage in the room which had been bogged but not painted, considering the price per night it was ok

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 23 January 2014
    "Good location in a wonderful litle town."

    .

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 22 January 2014
    "Simple and cheap, no hassle"

    The rooms were large and basic with an acceptable bathroom.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, I would stay here again, as location is also great with pub around the corner.

    Great value for money.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 15 January 2014
    "Perfect Stay"

    Overnight stay but perfect place to do it. We wanted to stay longer due to how comfortable we felt but unfortunately had to get back to Auckland. We were blown away by the size of the 2 bedroom unit. It was spacious, very clean and had everything we needed. Will definitely be coming back :) Thanks for having us Matakana House Motel!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 14 January 2014
    "Our stay at Matakana"

    Very good motel. Beautiful area. Good facilities. Helpful staff.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 14 January 2014
    "Matakana House Motel"

    Ideally located adjacent to the village. Quite good facilities, owner very friendly and hard working, very clean(serviced daily). Safe location for kids.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 14 January 2014
    "Great Accomodation!"

    Great location, comfortable room, good value! We really enjoyed our stay!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 13 January 2014
    "Comfortable stay in a great location."

    We enjoyed staying here. The location is great, with cafes, restaurants, ice-cream parlours, excellent movie theatres and shops all with an easy walk. Motel owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our unit was clean and comfortable, though its facilities were rather basic.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 10 January 2014
    "Disappointing"

    The location is excellent in the heart of Matakana Village but the motel is very run down and overpriced.

    Rating 2

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 6 January 2014
    "Comfortable and everything needed in and out...."

    We spent a couple of nights at the Matakana House Motel. We were lucky enough to have Unit 1 which was next door to our friends house. The unit is behind the local hotel's car park and you can stroll through to the shops / markets. The motel was kitted out with everything we required and we had our single lady friend staying in the second bedroom. Even though it was New Years eve it was a surprisingly quiet stay. The hosts were very friendly. Highly recommended.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Saturday, 4 January 2014
    "Location"

    Clean, tidy, great location backing on the pub!

    Lovely team.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 18 December 2013
    "Good value motel"

    Third visit to this motel and still very good value for money. Clean, comfortable and within a short walk to Matakana centre.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 16 December 2013
    "Great value and service"

    Matakana House Motel is an excellent place to stay. We had attended a wedding in Matakana so there were five of us adults in a 2 large bedroom unit. The beds were all really comfortable. The entire unit was very clean and tidy. The managers were really friendly and accommodated our needs - early check-in, additional carpark. Great value and service.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 19 November 2013
    "Excellent Stay"

    Very accommodating as well as being very handy to everything. Highly recommend.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 5 November 2013
    "nice, clean motel"

    Nice motel with standard facilities, clean, easy check in/out.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 31 October 2013
    "Labour weekend stay"

    We had a very enjoyable time at the Makatana House Motel. All amenities were very good. We asked for a Portacot and high chair for our baby and they kindly provided both. They also provided a babysitter at short notice which was very good of them.

    We love the area so we would like to stay again some time.

    Some improvements they could do would be to install window stays on some windows particularly the children's rooms. I wouldn't feel comfortable staying there in the summer months when its hot and having to leave the windows open at night without a window stay for security.

    Also a minor thing was that the chopping knife in the kitchen was very blunt and couldn't cut much at all with it.

    Overall the place and people were lovely

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 30 October 2013
    "If you have no where else to go"

    Where do we start?

    Location... great

    Bed ....great

    So here it goes....we settled in the room welcomed by a wardroad on wheel near by the entrance door.looked for towel for shower.... no towels to be seen. We found them later on in cabinet under the vanity.

    Later on saturday wanted to relax, went on the multi colour deck (stained in different shade and area were not even stained at all.

    Later that evening went to bed and the security light and the early bright morning woke us up as the room was soooooo lite up due to the no curtain policy on front door. Finally on the next morning trying to have a shower, the trickle coming out of the nozzle was unbelievable! !!!! (Photos available)

    Last point, there were no information in the room about emergency nos, restaurants to go to, places to visit. When raised with the owner when we paid, the answer to us was: you had to ask!

    What an experience.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 29 October 2013
    "Matakana House in Matakana Village"

    Centrally located, warm reception from hosts and clean. Was not there for long, but it's location to The Village can't be beaten.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 16 October 2013
    "weekend away"

    We stayed here in October 2013. The weather was appalling but we found our stay enjoyable anyway. We stayed with our two grandchildren in a family unit. It was comfortable, warm and clean. The location of the motel so close to central Matakana was very handy. We would definitely stay here again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 9 October 2013
    "Review"

    Have now stayed three times. Delighted. With the friendliness of the greetings, the clean and tidy rooms, the ease and simplicity of the booking system. Less than a slow three minute walk from all the charms of the Matakana Village.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 8 October 2013
    "Excellent motel"

    It was great value and the rooms were a good size for 4 people. It was very clean and had a lovely deck to sit out on. It was very close to the shops and food places. The only thing that our son commented on was no Sky TV.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Saturday, 5 October 2013
    "Another very pleasant stay"

    I have stayed here many times, and it is always a pleasant place to stay with good service and basic but comfortable accommodation, handy to the shops and cafes and movies. I will use it again.

    Rating 5

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 29 August 2013
    "Probably not worth the price"

    Room was comfortable and quiet with good pressure shower but lacked any real appeal. Have paid less for better and $120 during the winter seemed too much. Really not a motel room as there was no kitchen. A microwave and a basin filled from the bathroom tap doesn't do it. Would rate as 2. Would recommend if $90 and really only place in Matakana.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 29 August 2013

    We are sorry your stay was unsatisfactory. Since you booked online you would have seen from the room descriptions that only our two bedroom units have cooking facilities! In the studios, provision is made for rinsing any dishes in between servicing of the unit at which stage any dirty dishes would be taken, washed and replaced. We hope your next visit will be more enjoyable and the unit you pick more in tune to your requirements.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 19 August 2013
    "Matakana House Motel"

    Very friendly, lovely clean rooms

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 24 July 2013
    "1 NIGHT STAY"

    We arrived very early but were able to access the room straight away. The room was clean and tidy and had everything we needed for our 1 night, right in the heart of Matakana. We stayed in room 1 with 2 bedrooms which had a full kitchen. Staff were very friendly! Will return :)

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 16 July 2013
    "Great location!"

    We were looking for somewhere to stay a night so we could both have a drink and walk to a local restaurant & cinema. Matakana House Motel was perfect for this as well as clean & tidy. The heater had been put on for us before we arrived & the electric blankets were great! Great service. Would use again!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 24 June 2013
    "Midweek Stay"

    We stayed at the Motel for one night midweek for a midwinter wedding.

    We found the motel very accomodating with a early check in and the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

    The motel is within walking distance to all cafes and shops.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 5 June 2013
    "expected more for the price"

    Even though he unit was reasonably clean, there werd cockroaches throushout the unit and even got into our food, the towels were musty due to being in the bathroom cupboard.

    Complained at reception about ghe cocmroaches but she seemed to not care.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 5 June 2013

    Thank you for your comments and we apologize for your misconception of disinterest in your complaint. It was definitely headed and acted upon straight away. We hope your next visit is more pleasurable.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 5 June 2013
    "Neat and Tidy"

    A hop skip and a jump away from the village market and wonderful restaurants. The studio room was big enough and clean and tidy. Friendly service. Definitely staying there again for the price and location! Thanks!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 30 May 2013
    "Great palce to stay, Clean and cosy."

    Friendly patrons, 2nd time we have stayed and will stay again next time.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Sunday, 26 May 2013
    "Great location"

    Fabulous village location. Room large and roomy, but bathroom somewhat tired and outdated.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 21 May 2013
    "Great Location"

    This our third stay at Matakana House Motel, great location right next to the Village and close to lots of activities. Comfortable basic accommodation, clean, tidy and quiet.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 13 May 2013
    "Excellent & convenient stay for my needs."

    I am building locally and found Matakana House to be to be an excellent stay. The room is well appointed for my needs and the house keeping is always done to a high standard.

    Thanks to the caretakers Denis and Maree

    Regards,

    Bruce

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 8 May 2013
    "WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK"

    Booked in as a friend had his 60th at local pub. This was a central location and perfect for our one night stay. I thought it might have been quite noisy being right in town, and the motel was full, but was pleasantly surprised. Would definitely go back.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 6 May 2013
    "Friendly reception"

    We enjoyed a quiet mid-week night at the Matakana House Motel. The motel is set well back off the street with good parking. We got a friendly reception and helpful tips on local attractions. This motel was located conveniently within walking distance of the township which was great for us as we were traveling by motorbike!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 30 April 2013
    "Disappointing"

    This was the last place we stayed on a Northland road trip, and unfortunately we were disappointed. We had just come from Paihia where, for the same price, we had a 2 bedroom suite overlooking the water, with modern furnishings etc. Our room at Matakana House Motel looked out to a container surrounded by weeds on one side, and the laundry room and car park on the other. Obviously we were not expecting views, but we did expect a better outlook. The furniture was a bit tired (although comfortable) and the TV reception was terrible. A good location, but we won't be returning.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 29 April 2013
    "A lovely weekend."

    We headed out of Auckland for a much needed family break and spent two nights away over ANZAC weekend. Some of the reviews were a bit negative so we weren't sure what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised. Apart from slightly patchy carpet the facilities were excellent and had everything we needed for cooking, tea coffee etc. The staff were friendly and helpful and best of all they let us bring our dog who we tied up on the grassed area and let sleep in the car. Having our dog made this a really fun family weekend. Very handy to the town as well which given the changeable weather at this time of year is a real plus. Will definitely go back.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 11 April 2013
    "Location Location"

    This place is all about its proximity to the village & weekend market. The studio was very simple but clean & tidy & served our purpose which was just to sleep.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 4 April 2013
    "Matakana House Motel"

    Stayed 2 nights over Easter - real handy to the centre of town, comfortable and clean - loved the bird song in the morning - great base for the many activities and beaches that are close by. Would recommend to families - good value accommodation.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 27 March 2013
    "Recommended"

    Great place! Basic but contained all necessities; very clean. Great location right in Matakana village. Welcoming staff who allowed us to check in about 3 hours before official check-in time, which was most appreciated as we have a toddler. Competitively priced compared with other accommodation options in the area. Highly recommended, and we will most likely be back.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content

  • Tuesday, 26 March 2013
    "Discusting"

    Gross, really really gross, Hosts were apalling

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 26 March 2013
    "Spend more, look elsewhere"

    To start the wife and I waited for about a half hour for service, The key we were given had the room number plus the address of the motel (not good if you lose your keys, it makes it too easy for criminals), I ironed my shirt in the laundry, smelt of cat pee and cat food, the iron damaged my shirts, dirty black marks), the motel room had a musty damp odour. Overall not impressed at all, we were attending a wedding in the area - but recommend to others to spend a little extra and get something nice, I have stayed in nicer places for less!!!

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 26 March 2013

    We are sorry that no one was in the office to greet you when you arrived,we would have been busy working around the complex. Most people take a wee wonder around if no one answers the bell and finds someone to assist without to much trouble. I guess you can't please everyone with the key situation. The keys are designed so you don't lose them, but people still tend to misplace or take them home. Very frustrating for us. I don't understand where the damp musty odour you refer to would have come from as all units are aired daily and it has been so dry i'm sure any moisture would be evaporated very quickly in this weather. We are sorry if the iron did any damage, it is funny that no one else complained about it since it was used by others that day. If these things are bought to our attention at the time, we at least have a chance to rectify the problem, but when we hear about it after the fact it's a bit late don't you think.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 25 March 2013
    "Accommodation Review"

    Disappointing accommodation for the price. Very basic units, for what you got they should be around the $80-$90 per night. Assume it's the upmarket location of Matakana. We stayed in much better accommodation in Hamilton, Petone and Picton for $120.00. A basic TV, no screen in the shower or blind or drape on the bathroom window. The jug didn't fit under the bathroom tap so had to be filled via another vessel (Inconvenient) The only good news!! the bed was comfortable

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 26 March 2013

    We are sorry your stay was unsatisfactory. Most motels supply at least the basics as we do. If by basic TV you mean Not a flat screen, no, the particular unit you chose off the web has not yet been updated. But before the free view kicks in all units will be upgraded. The unit you chose was an accessibility unit and as such has been designed to accommodate a wheel chair in the bathroom and in doing so a small sacrifice of a smaller sink to accommodate this was necessary. Lots of motels do not allow for disabled guests. Perhaps in future your choice of room will be more fitting to your needs.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 13 March 2013
    "Exellent place"

    My family loves staying at this place! Best location and nice rooms. Will be back soon. Choose your room online and book it to secure. And enjoy your stay.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 13 March 2013

    Thank you Andrew, we are all ways happy to see our regular guests and their families. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 11 February 2013
    "Good place"

    Very good stay. Handy for all that Matakana has to offer. Host very helpful.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 11 February 2013
    "Expensive and tired."

    Ideal location for the town but felt the property was a bit "tired" and could do with an update. Expensive night for what we got!

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 6 February 2013
    "Clean and functional"

    A great little motel right in the heart of Matakana. Literally 2 minutes walk to cafes and restaurants on the main drag. Would definitely stay here again.

    On arrival we had a small misunderstanding in terms of bed configuration expectation which was quickly sorted by the hosts supplying a fold up bed and extra bedding.

    Completely beyond the control of the motel but worth mentioning is that unit number 1 backs onto the pub and they empty their bottles into the bins in the wee small hours of the night/morning.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 15 January 2013
    "Great location, clean and friendly, just confirm exactly what you are getting."

    We stayed here a year ago and loved this motel complex, located behind the Matakana House Hotel and two minutes walk from village centre. Our studio unit last year was spacious and fully equiped with kitchenette. We have stayed at many motels over the years and it never entered our heads that there might be motel studio units not fully equiped, having never encountered them before. We were therefore surprised that the studio unit this time did not have any kitchen facilities, but just a plastic bowl to rinse or wash dishes. We expressed our concerns to the owners who promptly offered us another unit, but could only accomodate us for two nights rather than the three that we had booked. To our delight we were back in the same unit that we had stayed in last year, the only disappointment being having to move out for the third night. The owners were very friendly and although our booking confirmation did in fact refer to the limited facilites being offered, they accepted our point of view. We have no complaints. Overall, this place has much going for it and is very reasonably priced. We would defintely come again, but would only stay in one of the fully equiped units.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 14 January 2013
    "Review"

    Clean, comfortable motel with helpful staff. Great for a stopover in Matakana. Would recommend to others. My only suggestion would be that it would have been very handy to have mirrors in bedrooms and a hairdryer available. Thanks again. Best wishes. Paula

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 14 January 2013

    We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have taken on board your comments re mirrors in all bedrooms. Sorry you missed out on the hairdryer. They are available upon request from the office. Look forward to seeing you in the future.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 26 December 2012
    "Motel in the centre of Matakana"

    This is the most convenient place to stay in Matakana, tucked behind the main street and literally 1 minute away from everything (pubs, restaurants, Farmers Market on a Saturday, food and gift stores). We stayed in a 2 storey, 2 bedroom unit. Clean, had all the basics that we needed and a good amount of space (also water pressure in shower was excellent). Staff were pleasant and helpful. We were also pleasantly surprised to be able to charge our stay in non-NZ currency on our credit card.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 21 December 2012
    "Very expensive for what it was"

    This place was clean but VERY tired and needing repairs. There was a hole in the wall that had been filled but not sanded and painted, the curtains were not held on at the ends, the bench had two holes in it (one had been attempted to be fixed) and the dining table was in an atrociously stained and damaged condition. I would hesitate to stay there again, unless we absolutely had to.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 19 December 2012
    "Refreshing short break getaway"

    Great place to stay. Very welcoming, fresh milk !! clean and quiet and short walk to heart of matakana (and great movies theatre) . We would be back in a flash

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 17 September 2012
    "Ok"

    1. Clean enough

    2. Very cheaply built hotel

    3. The heater didn't look safe to turn on

    4. Was a bit noisy

    5. I'd say for $100 wouldn't complain, but $165 is a bit too much.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 23 April 2012
    "matakana motel"

    the room and service was excellent however there was a problem in our unit in that in order to fill the jug you had to use a cup to fill it from the bathroom faucet as the jug would not fit under the faucet,the same applied when we did the dishes as we had to fill the bowl from the bathroom tap.however we would stay there again as it was a very pleasant and quiet location

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 1 May 2012

    Thank you for your review. We do apologize for your frustration. Due to the set up of the unit i.e. being wheel chair accessible we had to put in a smaller sink to accommodate wheel chair entry. We will fix this problem and look forward to your next visit.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 10 April 2012
    "our stay"

    We stayed just the one night on our way up North. It was just what we wanted. Quiet and clean. Matakana is a beautiful spot friendly people. At some stage we would like to retire there.Thank you propieter of the Motel would stay there again

    rating 4

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 1 May 2012

    Thank you for your comments. We look forward to your next visit.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 20 September 2011
    "Location, location, location."

    Great location, clean and adequate studio and friendly hosts.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 1 May 2012

    Thank you for your comments. It's a pleasure having great people stay. Look forward to seeing you again.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 4 February 2011
    "Matakana House Motel review: DISAPPOINTING"

    Unit was unclean - visible dust and dirt over much of the carpet in lounge and bedrooms

    Bathroom - horrible odour from basin pipework

    TV - poor reception on all channels and no Sky provided

    Mosquito - terrible infestation of mosquitos mainly from rear yard area, but NO SCREENS on windows !! With the hot & humid weather this summer it was impossible to sleep.

    Noise - very rowdy behaviour in adjoining unit(s) was allowed to go on until 3am !!

    Parking - spaces not allocated, hence we missed out twice.

    Price - $180/night far too high for a shabby unit such as this.

    Overall - unit layout and location good but disappointed with its presentation.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 1 May 2012

    We are sorry your stay was unsatisfactory. All units have fly spray and mosquito plug ins should they be needed. We have had screens on windows but due to the high volume of usage they do not last long. All units are supplied with fans to help relieve those hot humid nights. Noisy guests can be a problem at times and are approached to quell the noise. Thank you to those guest who comply. When more that one car per unit arrives for a stay parking outside of allotted units can be a problem. We hope that should you visit is again your stay will be a happier one.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
More Reviews

Post a Review

You have to be a 'My Jasons' member to post reviews. Not a member? Register here.

Back to Matakana Accommodation (Motels & Motor Lodges)

Phone Number

  • 09 422 7497
Email
  • Send
  • Thank you Thank you for your enquiry. It has been sent to the property and they will process it within 24 hours. Should you not receive a response in a timely manner, please phone the property directly.

View Map

Matakana Motel
975 Matakana Road
Matakana
New Zealand
0985
Loading
Loading...
Transport & Rental