Back to Kohimarama Accommodation (Motels & Motor Lodges) New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Kohimarama > Kohimarama Motels, Motor Lodges & Motor Inns

Aarangi Motel

Self Rated:

3 Star Rating (Self Rated)

User Rated:

4 User Rating

Address

1 Melanesia Road
Kohimarama
New Zealand
1071

Phone Number

  • 09 521 2649

Enquire by Email

  • Send

Location

Aarangi Motel
1 Melanesia Road
Kohimarama
New Zealand
1071
Loading
Loading...
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Aarangi Motel, Kohimarama, Auckland City
  • Book Online
  • Overview
  • Reviews (32)
Arriving:
Adults:
Children:
    • Today
    • Sun
      03 Aug
    • Mon
      04 Aug
    • Tue
      05 Aug
    • Wed
      06 Aug
    • Thu
      07 Aug
    • Fri
      08 Aug
  • $175
    $175
    $175
    $175
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    Book Now
  • SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    Book Now
  • $175
    $175
    $175
    $175
    $175
    SOLD
    SOLD
    Book Now
  • SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    Book Now
  • $175
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    SOLD
    $175
    SOLD
    Book Now

Amenities

  • Electric blankets
  • Fully equipped kitchen
  • Hair dryer
  • In-Room Broadband
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Laundry/laundry service
  • Microwave
  • Off-street parking
  • Light cooking facilities
  • Sky TV

Overview

Quiet residential location, 2min walk to Kohimarama Beach (80m). 9 fully self-contained 1brm units, some with balconies and most with garden view. All units have kitchen with light cooking facilities, microwave, fridge. Shower, hair dryer, wireless broadband, LCD TV with 5-channel Sky, heating, iron/ironing board. Guest laundry. Ample off-street parking.

Walk to Kohi, Mission Bay or St Heliers Beaches, parks, cafes, restaurants and Tamaki Drive attractions (all within 1km); 8min/8km drive to Kelly Tarlton's Underwater World, Auckland CBD, Queen Street shops, Vector Arena and Viaduct Harbour.

Tariff: from single $155; 2 guests sharing a unit from $169; extra person $20; unit rate/minimum stay may apply peak periods. All major credit cards, Eftpos. NZ owner/hosts: Ros & Dennis.

Reviews (32)

show all

  • Posted 08 May 2014
    "Handy location" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    A nice motel, handy to cafés and the beach, the proprietors were extremely helpful,and even rang the next day to say they had found an earring.

    Would recommend others to stay there.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 8 May 2014

    Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure having you both to stay at the Motel.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 30 Apr 2014
    "One night only" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    Friendly as staff and very clean for an older property. Love the location.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 30 April 2014

    Thank you for your review most appreciated.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 12 Mar 2014
    "Excellent" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    Great hosts, good unit, excellent location close to beach and short walk to Mission Bay restaurants.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 13 March 2014

    Thank you so much for the great review, maybe we see you next time you are in Auckland.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 06 Mar 2014
    "Our stay at Aarangi Motel." This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    We had an excellent, enjoyable stay at Aarangi Motel.. Very friendly welcome at reception on arrival. Very clean well appointed accommodation with fully equipped kitchenette. Extremely quiet location just 3 minutes walk from the very nice pohutukawa tree lined Kohi beach, café (very good coffee), bakery and a restaurant. 3 minutes walk in the other direction and there is an excellent Italian restaurant (with takeaways if preferred), café and a bakery. The walkway/cycle way along Tamaki Drive passes through Kohi Beach.

    We certainly recommend this Motel.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 6 March 2014

    Thank you for such a wonderful review, so appreciated, it is the wonderful location which sets the scene. Hope to see you next visit.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 05 Mar 2014
    "Brilliant location, lovely motel" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    We really enjoyed our stay at Aarangi Motel. The motel is in a great location, close to the beach, shops and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was lovely and clean with everything that was needed, plus a little balcony. When we are next in Auckland we will come back.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 5 March 2014

    Thank you for that lovely review, thank you for being such lovely guests. We hope to see you in Auckland again.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 20 Feb 2014
    "Feb 2014 stay" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    This is m5y second stay at the Aarangi and as far as I am concerned it

    rates a "five". Ros and Dennis are very friendly and helpful

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 20 February 2014

    Thank you for your lovely review, we so appreciate your kind words. See you again soon.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 14 Feb 2014
    "nostalgic return to area" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    warm welcome,very clean,close to beach and cafes ect

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Saturday, 15 February 2014

    Thank you so much for your review, maybe one day you visit again.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 23 Jan 2014
    "Great place next door to paradise" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    The third time I've stayed here while visiting Auckland. There is no place better located, no owners more helpful. The price is reasonable, too.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 23 January 2014

    That's a really amazing review, thank you so much, it was a pleasure having both yourself and wife to stay at the Motel, we hope to see you again when you are next in Auckland.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 20 Jan 2014
    "4 night stay" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    The Motel was fantastic, very clean and the room had all the facilities we needed and more.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and won't hesitate to stay again and would highly recommend. Rating 5 for excellent!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 21 January 2014

    Thank you for this wonderful review, we so appreciate it, and hope to see you again in the future.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 15 Jan 2014
    "wonderful cloese to beach place!" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    manager is very helpful and friendly

    close to beach and bus stop

    nice cafe close by

    super clean and spacios

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 15 January 2014

    Thank you for your review, the location is quite special with the beach, cafes and bus stop being so close and just a short bus ride to the city.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 29 Dec 2013
    "Fantastic location" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    What a great hidden gem this Motel is. Very clean, tidy and comfortable and conveniently located near the beach in Kohimarama. Lovely big beach towels provided to take to the Beach.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Saturday, 4 January 2014

    Thank you for the great review, and pleased you enjoyed the beach towels.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 20 Dec 2013
    "One night stay" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    Was there for a family member in the Mission Bay triathlon so it was a perfect location. It was also really tidy and clean and the host was excellent and friendly.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Friday, 20 December 2013

    Thank you so much for such a great review, really appreciated.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 10 Dec 2013
    "comfortable & convenient" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    for over 35 years, we have chosen to stay in Kohimarama if possible because it is on the bay & close to relatives & friends. we look for a quiet location to help us get over the international flight jetlag. this motel was quiet, convenient, friendly & well appointed even though space was modest. we give it a rating of 4.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 11 December 2013

    Thank you for your positive review, it is appreciated. We hope to see you next time you are visiting Kohimarama.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 19 Nov 2013
    "Good family oriented motel." This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    Clean, comfortable motel to stay at, very family oriented and very welcoming.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 19 November 2013

    Thank you so much for reviewing the Motel, we really appreciate your comments.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 18 Nov 2013
    "Tidy welcoming motel" This was given a review of 3 stars (Average)

    Nice tidy motel and welcoming manager's. You do step back into the 70's with the room style and layout but close to beach and cafes

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 19 November 2013

    Thank you for your comments, yes the location is great, so close to Kohimarama Beach and within walking distance to the restaurants of Mission Bay and the village of St Heliers Bay.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 12 Nov 2013
    "Location Location" This was given a review of 2 stars (Below Expected)

    Good simple rooms, wooden floors so noisy down stairs from the thumping upstairs. Hot water very low pressure

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 12 November 2013

    Thank you for your review and your honesty. I agree with your comments. I try the best I can for our guests but clearly have let you down, the best I can offer is to say that I would have gone to ask the guests to be quiet but as we were only made aware of the noise when you checked, it was then too late to try to rectify. Regarding the pressure of water we do have a low pressure hot water system.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 23 Sep 2013
    "Fantastic location" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    Good facilities and fantastic location!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 23 September 2013

    Thank you for reviewing your stay. The location is pretty amazing especially if you make use of the lovely walks along the waterfront, cafes and restaurants. Hope to see you again.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 26 Aug 2013
    "AArangi stayover" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    Actually stayed 2 nights and enjoyed. Very helpful staff. Comfortable stay with facilities close by. Will stay there again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 26 August 2013

    Thank you for your review, pleasure to have you stay at the Motel, hope to see you again.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 29 May 2013
    "Great stay at the Aarangi" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    The Aarangi is a gorgeous motel close to the beach and plenty of cafes. It is within easy walking distance of other bays/restaurants. The room was very clean, contained everything required and generally had a really gorgeous 'feel' to it. The owner was helpful and pleasant. A really fab stay and would recommend to anyone.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 29 May 2013

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Motel, and thank you so much for a great positive review as well, it is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you next time you are in Auckland and need accommodation in the area.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 15 May 2013
    "Great spot" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    Impeccably clean and the hospitality was top notch.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 15 May 2013

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Motel, it is most appreciated. Will pass your lovely comments onto our cleaning staff. See you again.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 10 Apr 2013
    "First taste of NZ" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    Well furnished, well equipped, comfortable unit. We appreciated the helpfulness of the owners in accommodating our late-night arrival, not requesting any deposit, and the extreme patience shown when we encountered problems with our card payment. Nice area, good cafe / take away very close by and a large range of other cafes, restaurants and other small shops within 10-15mins walk. All in all a very good introduction to New Zealand.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 15 May 2013

    Thank you for your review, it's great that you enjoyed the area, and found it a good introduction to NZ, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. See you again.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 18 Mar 2013
    "Very happy" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    Great location, and the owners are extremely accommodating. We needed to alter our booking at late notice and they made the changes with absolutely no fuss.

    Very comfortable and clean rooms.

    Reasonable tariff.

    Will be my first choice when I return to auckland

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 18 March 2013

    Great to receive such a positive review, many thanks, look forward to seeing you next time.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 12 Mar 2013
    "Horrible Place, Needs to be Torn Down" This was given a review of 1 star (Poor)

    Old and run down. Smelt and the smell was even stronger in the bedroom. Couldn't sleep it smelt so bad. Dirty old carpet, felt close to a hostel type of accommodation. Way Over Priced. Horrible shower, had to go thru the cold cycle to turn it off, that's quite eye opening literally! Wish we could have stayed somewhere else.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 12 March 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to respond. We are really sorry to hear that your stay wasn't a good experience. We would have appreciated you advising us when you were staying, when I enquired if everything was OK with your unit you did reply "it was OK or fine" or words to that effect. We do hope that when you next visit Auckland that you find accommodation in the area which is acceptable to you.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 08 Mar 2013
    "Excellent motel" This was given a review of 3 stars (Average)

    The owners were so pleasant and the unit was very clean and comfortable. Close to shops and the water. Will be going back this month.

    I give it a 5 rating.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 01 Mar 2013
    "Rangitoto Deluxe" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    Family of four adults stayed one night to do Auckland Sea Kayaks night trip to Rangitoto. Location of motel was excellent - easy to get to and from airport, easy to get to the kayak trip and great for swim, run and coffees the next morning. Motel is quiet, owners super friendly and helpful, plenty of equipment in kitchen, quality products in bathroom. We would stay there again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Friday, 1 March 2013

    What a wonderful review thank you so much, we look forward to seeing you next time.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 21 Feb 2013
    "Fantastic location and friendly owners" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    Loved having our own place and particularly liked the upstairs balcony. As the weather was so good, didn't want to watch much TV, but if we had done, there were very comfy tilting leather chairs to do so on! Given lots of advice and help from Ros the owner. Only complaint was that the cold wash didn't really clean my clothes.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 25 February 2013

    Thank you so much for the lovely review, really great to hear your comments and most appreciated, hope to see you again in Auckland.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 19 Feb 2013
    "Scots in New Zealand" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    Lovely hotel and very friendly owners. Would recommend the Motel for a stay in Auckland.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 19 February 2013

    Thank you for your review, much appreciated, hope to see you next visit..

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 22 Jan 2013
    "Aarangi Motel NZ" This was given a review of 3 stars (Average)

    The stay was excellent. Rating 5

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 22 January 2013

    Thank you for the review we hope you have enjoyed the remainder of your holiday

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 21 Jan 2013
    "well located vintage style, excellent provisions, really friendly & so clean!" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    loved this place, the cleanest accommn we have ever encountered! hosts so friendly, but not intrusive either. & they have thought of everything. it is fibro stucco fully renovated retro splendour, so well located one block back from prime beachfront with full array of local shops within a block's walk. good size balconies 2nd level. only downside is slightly cramped bedroom a la 50s hotel style but a spare bed in the main area very useful compensation. the proprietors are so welcoming & forthcoming with local tips. totally recommend or those who like some personality in their accommodation. oh, & there are stairs to navigate...5 stars except for bedroom size.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 21 January 2013

    What an amazing review thank you so much, really appreciate hearing from you. Hope to see you both again sometime in the future when you next visit NZ.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 15 Nov 2012
    "review" This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    Pleasant and helpful hosts who supplied a clean and well presented unit

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 15 November 2012

    Thank you for your words much appreciated, we enjoying having you stay at the Motel.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 17 Oct 2012
    "Very nice motel" This was given a review of 5 stars (Excellent)

    We wanted a nice clean peaceful motel for a good nights sleep and that is what we got. Thank you very much.

    small issue with sky reception very fuzzy but that should be a easy fix.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 17 October 2012

    Thank you for your review, will check the Sport channel out again. We got it sorted a couple of weeks ago but looks like it has happened again. Thank you for advising me. Will be sorted this afternoon.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified

  • Posted 12 Sep 2012
    "Good value in a very mixed market." This was given a review of 4 stars (Good)

    Welcoming and obliging hosts. Comfortable bed, clean rooms and convenient, quiet location. A reasonable price for Auckland. Quality of the cable TV service indifferent, but fixable. Looking forward to another visit soon.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 12 September 2012

    Thank you so much for your review very much appreciated. We are having the Sky Sport channels looked at today, so should be sorted shortly. Look forward to seeing you next visit.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
    Jasons verified
More Reviews

Post a Review

You have to be a 'My Jasons' member to post reviews. Not a member? Register here.