Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel

Self Rated

User Rated

New Zealand > North Island > Eastland > Gisborne > Gisborne Motels, Motor Lodges & Motor Inns
  • Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel, Gisborne
  • Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel, Gisborne
  • Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel, Gisborne
  • Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel, Gisborne
  • Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel, Gisborne
  • Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel, Gisborne
  • Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel, Gisborne
  • Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel, Gisborne
  • Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel, Gisborne
  • Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel, Gisborne
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel is Gisborne's only beachfront motel. It has 14 beachfront units on the water's edge of Waikanae Beach and guests can choose from 13x1brm or 1x2brm. Liquor on license and complimentary gym membership is available to guests.

Gisborne is a city in the eastern part of the North Island. It is near the Urewera National Park which is the North Island's largest virgin native forest. The Motu and Mahaka Rivers near the city are suitable for fly fishing and whitewater rafting.

Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel is situated on 22 Salisbury Road. Tariff: 1-2 persons from $125-$195; extra person $20; peak/seasonal rates may apply; corporate rates available. Reserve your accommodation in Gisborne through Jasons.

Amenities

  • Barbecue
  • Business services
  • Continental breakfast
  • Cooked breakfast
  • Cot/highchair
  • Drycleaning
  • Electric blankets
  • Hair dryer
  • In-Room Broadband
  • In-Room Wireless
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Laundry/laundry service
  • Microwave
  • Freezer available
  • Sky TV
  • Work desk
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 8 October 2014
    "visiting friends in Gisborne"

    Very welcoming and helpful managers. Whispering Sands has a waterfront position and the suite I was in was well furnished and fully equpped so that I could look after myself. No complaints! I had a great walk along the beach.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 8 October 2014

    Hi John thants for you great review, hope you got your bags all the way through to OZ hope we may see you again Regards Peter and Judith

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Saturday, 4 October 2014
    "Whispering sands motel"

    A lovely clean unit, with outstanding views of the lovely Waikanae Beach. We enjoyed our stay here.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Saturday, 4 October 2014

    Thank you Heather for your review glad you enjoyed your stay Regards Judith

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Friday, 8 August 2014
    "Superb Motel"

    We stayed at the Whispering Sands for 2 nights, we would not fault it. The view is wonderful, accommodation is so clean and well looked after. The motel is of older style but because it is so well looked after it could not be faulted. I have never seen such clean Stainless Steel Benches and Shower. We stayed there 18 years ago and still the same owners.

    Thanks for an enjoyable stay

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Friday, 8 August 2014

    Hi thanks for your review I glad you enjyoyed your stay at Whisperingsands Beachfront Motel hope we meet again Cheers Judith

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 7 August 2014
    "Sunny Gisborne"

    Our stay at Whispering Sands was most enjoyable and we were more than happy with the unit we were allotted. To wake up on our first morning to see beautiful sunshine and Young Nicks Head in all it's glory was great.

    Appreciated the little extras (chocs on the pillows) and gingernuts to go with our cuppa.

    Also enjoyed the visit from the resident cat when we came home at night, not sure what breed he is but he is very friendly.

    Will certainly be staying here again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Friday, 8 August 2014

    Hi Jou glad you enjoyed your stay at Whispeing Sands Beachfront Motel. The cat is a british blue and his name is Bossco. Hope we see you again soon Cheers Judith

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Sunday, 27 April 2014
    "First Gisborne trip"

    This motel is in a great location for a visit to Gisborne, easy to find and convenient fro beach and town. The motel is well appointed and the decor is recent although the structure is obviously not new but looks smart. It was very comfortable and quiet. two minor downsides - poor shower pressure but that is a general characteristic of NZ motels, and the beach (only 30 meters away) was filthy. We counted three dead sheep and deer, 24 tyres and enough bottles to keep a brewery in operation for a year.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Sunday, 11 May 2014

    Hi thanks for your review, the beach was in pristine condition until we had two days of heavy rain here in Gisborne and the surrounding hills just before Easter. We had amassive amount of flood water and debris flow down the Taruheru & Waimata Rivers into the bay so that's why the beach wasn't looking to flash. You can't tell mother nature when to rain. The dead animals, tyres and bottles were removed that week by council. The wood slash that's removed once a year in spring. Regards Peter.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 10 April 2014
    "Absolutely fantastic"

    My friends and I would recommend this accommodation to everyone!!!! The view of the water and location is just perfect!! as are the very friendly owners.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Friday, 11 April 2014

    Thanks for your great review, glad you enjoyed your stay

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 26 March 2014
    "Great beachfront motel"

    Immaculate retro motel overlooking sea. Sorry couldn't stay longer to enjoy the setting.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 27 March 2014

    Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the great review we may see you again Regards Judith

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 10 March 2014
    "Good Stay"

    We stayed only 1 night, we were welcomed by a lovely lady. We were early but it wasn't a problem. The apartment was beautifully clean and there was a good selection of pots pans and dishes in the cupboards. The view was brilliant, we actually got waylaid watching the surfers and activity on the beach, in the rain!

    Lovely stay

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 10 March 2014

    Hi thanks for the great review glad you enjoyed your stay Regards Judith

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 19 February 2014
    "We'll definitely be back!"

    The building itself is dated, but the decor has been kept up to date and I have never stayed in a cleaner motel - just perfect! I could completely relax and enjoy the view over the ocean with the complimentary paper. We had a great stay, with everything we needed and we'll definitely be back.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 19 February 2014

    Hi Hannah, good to hear your stay was relaxing and enjoyable. The sea view makes all the difference. I will tell my cleaners they are doing a good job. Love to see you back some time. Peter & Judith.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 17 February 2014
    "Good value"

    Had a lovely stay on the beach. Could fault nothing - clean and comfortable. Hostess very patient and helpful when I lost the car keys!!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 11 February 2014
    "Holiday Heaven"

    For the second time we have stayed at Whispering Sands and highly recommend this place to all. Right on the beachfront - the sound of breaking waves is the only wake up call that's needed for a Whispering Sands holiday. We extended our booking with no problem and found our hosts only too obliging for everything. Bosco the cat was also a fabulous host and plays an important part in our stay as he checks on us regularly and makes sure we have the pet side of our needs catered for! The rooms are spotlessly clean. The linen is fresh. The layout is perfect for our needs. The motel is not new but has been well cared for and the paintwork and décor have been kept up to date. It would be impossible to fault a motel with this tariff level. I even asked them if they had charged me enough when I checked out! Well done folks - you've earned a "forever" space in our holiday schedule.

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 12 February 2014

    Hi thanks for you review it means alot to get good feedback. See you soon Cheers Judith and Peter

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 3 February 2014
    "Absolute beachfront"

    Excellent location overlooking safe beach. Spacious & well equipped rooms with large balcony or patio. Friendly & helpful staff. Close to shops & restaurants

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 3 February 2014

    Thank John for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay in Gisborne Cheers Peter and Judith

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 13 January 2014
    "Excellent"

    As always, the perfect place to stay for our family

    5

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 13 January 2014

    Thanks Rodger for the review have a great year

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Sunday, 29 December 2013
    "Very enjoyable"

    Great location, close to CBD, beaches and restaurants. friendly staff, ample space and good facilities.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Saturday, 28 December 2013
    "3 days in Gisborne"

    Absolute beach front- great to sit on the balcony overlooking the beach.

    A very quiet and clean unit- excellent service from the hosts.

    Definitely will stay again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 25 November 2013
    "Great use of space."

    When you first walk into the rooms at the Whispering sands, you brain goes "What?" because they are an unusual layout. After you've been there for about 10 minutes, it all makes perfect sense. Especially when you pour yourself a nice cold beverage and watch the sunset over the beach from your balcony. Loved our stay even though it was only one night. Really friendly hosts too. Will be back one day for sure.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 25 November 2013

    Thanks Tony for the lovely review. Yes a great place to watch the sunset from. Pleased you enjoy your stay and look forward to a return trip. Cheers Peter & Judith

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 12 November 2013
    "Even the resident cat (boss) gave us a warm “Gissy” welcome"

    Friendly, warm, great location and superb accommodation!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 12 November 2013

    Thank you David for the wonderful review. Yes Bossco is a character, hope to see you again soon.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 6 November 2013
    "Excellent Motel"

    Rating 5 + Whispering Sands was one of the nicest motels I have stayed in the exceptional view the helpful lovely staff the immaculate presentation a perfect visit I will be back thankyou Donna ODowd

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 25 November 2013

    Thank you Donna for the lovely review. Yes it is a million dollar view looking out over the bay. Yes I really appreciate my staff for the wonderful job they do. Regards Peter & Judith

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 22 October 2013
    "Highly Recommended"

    Very tidy accommodation. Great location. Great price. Will definitely stay again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 21 October 2013
    "Stylish 2 bedroom apartment with great sea views."

    Stayed here with my wife and elderly parents for an overnight stop. The first floor apartment was very good with panoramic beachfront views from the living area. The living room was very comfortable with leather recliners, the kitchen was well equipped, and the 2 bedrooms had double beds (or larger) Staff were friendly and helpful. Only problem was we were not there long enough to fully enjoy the great location.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 8 August 2013
    "Great stay at Whispering Sands"

    We arrived and allthough, we had a booking Problem, we got an exzellent, clean and quiet room, with all we needed. The lady at the reception was nice and so we had a perfect overnight stay. Next morning blue sky and only 30 m to the sea; what else do you need?

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 16 October 2013

    Thank you for your review. Yes nothing nicer waking up to the sound of the sea on a beautiful sunny morning and going for a walk along the beach. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 11 June 2013
    "Visit to Gisborne"

    Good clean and tidy room with all the necessary amenities. Great view from the balcony over the ocean. Despite the inclement weather we enjoyed our stay as the rooms were quite spacious.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 15 April 2013
    "Relaxing place to stay."

    Nice unit, upstairs with super views. Very clean, all the appliances we required .Not too far to walk into town. Enjoyed our stay.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 3 April 2013
    "Easter Weekend"

    We would like to thank all the staff at Whispering Sands for a wonderful Easter weekend. When we needed help they were incredibly obliging. We had a fantastic seafront room which had the best view in Gisborne (we think). Although the complex is not new the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay again and recommend anyone looking for beachfront accommodation you couldn't go wrong.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Sunday, 7 April 2013

    Thank-you for your kind review, yes it is the best beachfront view you will see in Gisborne. We are proud of our staff and will past on your kind comments. Regards Peter & Judith

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 3 April 2013
    "Superb"

    Warm welcome, excellent appointed units with direct access onto beach. Couldn't be more perfect - lulled to sleep by the gentle surf on the nearby beach

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Sunday, 7 April 2013

    Thank-you for the lovely review, yes it is nice going to sleep to the gentle sound of the surf. A morning walk along our beautiful beach is a great way to start the day after a good night sleep. Regards, Peter & Judith.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 13 March 2013
    "Whispering Sands"

    We booked the room through Jasons and found the room we had to our liking, just what we wanted, views of the ocean, privacy; if we had anything to moan about it would be the TV reception - however it was a very windy weekend.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 13 March 2013

    Thank you Ray for you kind review. I never get sick of that ocean view with it changing all the time. Have the shy technician checking the reception out today. Regards, Peter & Judith.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 6 March 2013
    "Review of Apartment 10 Whispering Sands Motel"

    Beautiful view of the sea and excellent access. The apartment was well-equipped, other than the oven which took forever to heat up. We decided to bake potatoes for supper on Saturday. After over two hours, they were still not cooked at 180-200 degrees. We whacked up the dial to full heat but, even then, the potatoes were only partly digestible. I suggest the oven be reviewed as to whether it's settings are correct.

    I wouldn't recommend the property to others because of the oven - otherwise it was fine.

    John Burnett

    Would you recommend to a friend? No
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Wednesday, 13 March 2013

    Glad the motel and view where great. We would of appreciated you telling about the oven when you having trouble with it as we could of sorted it out for you. Problem with oven has been sorted. Faulty thermostat. Regards, Peter.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 4 March 2013
    "Well kept"

    Very clean, friendly reception, price is about right

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 4 March 2013

    Hi Don, Thank you for your kind review. We are very lucky to have 4 lovely friendly cleaning ladies who do a great job. Cheers, Peter & Judith.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 25 February 2013
    "3 day stay in Feb"

    Excellent motel with a fantastic beach in front of your suite. Well equipped kitchenette.

    We will return

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 4 March 2013

    Thank you for your kind review. Yes the summer weather has been fantastic and the beach swimming great. Peter & Judith.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Thursday, 14 February 2013
    "East Coast Vibes Gizzy 2013"

    We had an amazing wkend in Gizzy attending the East Coast Vibes concert but aside from the great music we really enjoyed our stay at Whispering Sands... The service was top shelf, beds were comfy, amenities in the room were not the low budget stuff you usually see in motels and to top it off the view was phenomenal!!! We were about 1700meters from the concert venue and a stone throw away from Captain Morgan's take aways it was very convinient... I can't wait to return in 2014!!!

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 4 March 2013

    Thank you for your wonderful review. Yes it is a million dollar view I never get tried of seeing.On way home from stock cars drove past concert venue and the music was pumping. Hope to see you in 2014. Peter & Judith.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 12 February 2013
    "Beautifull place"

    An excellent and beautifull place and a good price and quality relation

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Monday, 4 March 2013

    Thank you for taking time to do the review. Peter & Judith.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 12 February 2013
    "Beautifull place"

    An excellent and beautifull place and a good price and quality relation

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 16 October 2012
    "Endless Summer"

    We really enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of this motel..... just wonderful to wake up to the sound of the ocean.

    Thanks for the memories

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 18 October 2012

    Hi Denis, Thanks for the review, yes the sound of the sea is something special. Regards, Peter& Judith.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Tuesday, 16 October 2012
    "A Quick Stay in Gisborne"

    What an ideal spot right on the beachfront with uninterrupted views from our top floor room out over the bay. All amenities such as shops and ATMs were within easy walking distance. The room was immaculately presented and it was very pleasing that there was a wide range of TV channels from which to select desired programs. A real bonus was both SkySports channels which allowed us to watch the NRL Grand Final from Australia. Staff were very cheerful and helpful.

    Sadly we needed to move on to Napier or we would have been very happy to stay a few more days.

    .

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Tuesday, 16 October 2012

    Hi Michael glad you enjoyed your stay hope to see you again sometime, and thanks for the kind words Cheers Judith and Peter

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Monday, 8 October 2012
    "Great place to rest"

    This is the second timeI have stayed at this motel and both times it has been just what we wanted. The unit opened out onto the beach - just right for sitting and relaxing in the sun (when the wind went down !). We had everything we needed - oven and microwave in the kitchen, beds were so comfortable and we were cosy and warm. The units were full each night but overall things were very quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful when we needed directions.I would definately reccomend this property to others and will stay there again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Thursday, 18 October 2012

    Hi Pamela, So happy you have come and stayed a second time and you enjoyed your stay just as much as the first. Cheers, Peter & Judith.

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Saturday, 21 July 2012
    "Motel"

    All very nice. Would stay again

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
  • Jasons verified

    Saturday, 7 July 2012
    "Cleanest Motel we have stayed in!"

    We had a very warm welcome from Peter , we were shown to our studio which had lovely sea views and given lots of information about Gisborne. The unit was spotless and very comfortable.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
    Reply from Operator
    Sunday, 8 July 2012

    Thanks so much for your comments we are glad you enjoyed you stay Regards Peter and Judith

    This response has been made by the operator and is not the opinion of Jasons (2013) Ltd.
  • Jasons verified

    Wednesday, 4 July 2012
    "Modernist Gem"

    If you're serious enough about finding a Retro themed get-a-way and know what Modernism is – then this place is a fabulous experience - smartly designed and wonderfully located.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content

  • Monday, 28 May 2012
    "Relaxing Stay"

    I had the pleasure of staying at the Whispering Sands Motel at the beginning of the year and was impressed with the whole place. The room (1 queen) was immaculate and the view of the bay was superb. I believe it is the the only motel in Gisborne on the beach front. The motel owners were very knowledgeable about the local area and were happy advice me to on what to do in my short stay in Gisborne. Would thoroughly recommend the motel again.

    Would you recommend to a friend? Yes
    Report inappropriate content
More Reviews

Post a Review

You have to be a 'My Jasons' member to post reviews. Not a member? Register here.

Back to Gisborne Accommodation (Motels & Motor Lodges)

Phone Number

  • 06 867 1319
  • 0800 40 50 30
  • 06 867 6747
Email
  • Send
  • Thank you Thank you for your enquiry. It has been sent to the property and they will process it within 24 hours. Should you not receive a response in a timely manner, please phone the property directly.

View Map

Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
22 Salisbury Road
Gisborne
New Zealand
4010
Loading
Loading...
Transport & Rental